Discover Your Body - Art Contest - #1 Feet||Jesus Washes His Disciple’s Feet||

D594EA62-F934-4416-A874-8E5F19485EB8.jpeg
Hi fellow Steemians! This is my entry to @yoganarchista’s “Discover Your Body” Art Contest Edition:1 theme Feet [Info Link Here]

If You Know These Things, Blessed Are You If You Do Them

My first thought to what I should draw for this theme feet, was initially Christ’s feet nailed to the cross, but I decided to draw this piece. Thinking of the Bible and the many times they mention feet. My husband mentioned “the washing of the feet of Jesus’ disciples”. I felt that was it, so this is what I finally came up with.

John 13:12-17(NKJV)
So when He had washed their feet, taken His garments, and sat down again, He said to them, “Do you know what I have done to you? You call Me Teacher and Lord, and you say well, for so I am. If I then, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another's feet. For I have given you an example, that you should do as I have done to you. Most assuredly, I say to you, a servant is not greater than his master; nor is he who is sent greater than he who sent him. If you know these things, blessed are you if you do them.

Process

98585849-8764-419C-B3C0-3A685B3A3DA3.jpeg
5952FB7B-410B-40D6-B324-6BB6ED1B1FE6.jpeg
98D19AA3-9A0F-47B8-AAF7-CCF0B0F4C25B.jpeg
I first started off sketching this work with a Graphic Designer Medium 2H Derwent Pencil very lightly. Then proceeded to do the background with Derwent Studio Colored Pencils, and then switching back and forth from Derwent to Prismacolor Scholar Pencil for more variety and texture differences. The Prismacolor Scholar gives a more grainy effect which I like very much, you can see it here in the clothing of one of Jesus’s disciples. The foot print framing the drawing was actually a thought that came to me about midway into this drawing lightly sketched the foot form around the whole piece and liked and kept it. I always use Acid-free and Lignin-free, “won’t fade or yellow” 8&1/2 x 11 heavyweight paper.
Thank you for viewing.
Thanks @yoganarchista for starting the contest and good luck to all who enter it. There are amazing works of art being entered, and I look forward to drawing the other body parts.
22600BB3-ACAF-4077-AEF2-39A81974979E.png

@lildebbiecakes

Sort:  

Wow, I'll be honest I'm not the most religious person although I do live what I think is a very ethical life. However this is one of my favorite parts of the Bible! This piece is wonderful! These things I think people sometimes forget, I'm personally glad you chose this one, the meaning and the art are amazing.

Hi my friend @renascence! I love your Honesty. Many of my closest and dearest friends do not know or worship Jesus, but they understand and respect that I do, and that’s wonderful. What Jesus was saying or trying to convey here to his disciples, and actually to all who read the Bible is basically the “Golden rule” love thy neighbor as thyself. Many people who call themselves Christians, can read the Bible again and again and they just dont get it. They just can’t follow that one golden command. If you can’t love, help, give, serve, forgive others which Jesus teaches all through the Gospel, Then I personally believe you need to practice what is loving and good before you can call yourself a Christian. You have to walk as Jesus would that’s the whole point. Ok I’m done! Sorry I’m very passionate about it. Love ya

Aw love ya too. I completely hear you on that one! You remind me of my future mother-in-law, she's very devout and she's the most loving and down to earth person. From where I was raised I used to be very religious but everyone I was around were very "righteous", they were people ready to "throw the first stone" but didn't have the right ya know. That's why I've always loved verses and parts like this one, I agree, its a way of life we should all work and strive for : )

Awwww! You made my day seriously 😋! You’re getting married? Awesome 👏 congratulations! I pray he loves and respects his mother, I say this because if he doesn’t than he hasn’t properly learned to love women. That’s what I firmly believe in. But that’s just my opinion. Than there’s the “ ma mas” boy syndrome which is a result from a very controlling mother, both cases very sad, but ya got to watch out for this stuff. His mother sounds like a wonderful person I’m so happy for you! It’s nice to be around people who are loving and happy without truly not faking it, enjoying life and the roller coaster ride that it is. Those up and down times, you can always learn from those downs if you choose to see it which turns that frown upside down ☹️🙃. Ooooo that was fun, as you can see I’ve kept that inner child in there, never take anything to seriously, God says “ have faith it will all turn out”. He has gotten me through many a hard time. If we had everything peachy all the time, we wouldn’t learn a darn thing we’d be soulless, and a bit boring to talk to. Congrats 🍾🎉🎈 again!

Aw thank you! Hopefully later this year, he only asked last month😊 After four long years! haha. I never really wanted a wedding I just want a long vacation, but I think our families would be sad if we didn't hehe.

Funny you talk about his relationship with his mom, that was one of the first things I paid attention to, I've been around both situations. I think he's got the perfect relationship with his mother. Once I met him I realized all the hard times were necessary to find out what I really need and want for myself. Fortunately since we've been together the hard times seem like a distant memory, like I have finally made it over that hill I suppose.

Keep that inner child! I feel like the older I get the younger I need to start acting lol we deserve to have that carefree fun feeling 😄

Wow. As i was scrolling thru the blog of @yoganarchista I came across with this one. So, I said to drop my appreciation comments. I really like this.

I had tried being washed on the feet by the priest. It was really life changing.

Hi @christianyocte! Thank you for your kind comments, and your love for God. I would love to here more about your life changing experience by the washing of your feet, sounds wonderful. Thank you 🙏 and may God bless!

The pleasure is mine my friend

166/5000
Excellent work you have my vote and my support! I hope you see mine too https://steemit.com/discoveryourbody/@noteswill/my-entry-discover-your-body-art-contest-1-feet

Hi @noteswill, thank you for your kindness and support really appreciate it! I will look at your work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61547.52
ETH 2377.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58