Are You in Colorado? Are You Coming to Discon August 3rd-4th?

in #discon6 years ago

I've been busy with quite a few things lately, so I've been late to getting this out there, but I'll be speaking next week at the first Discon conference in Boulder, Colorado. We're driving out there as a family, and I'm really looking forward to it. The full schedule is now online and includes a lot of really interesting-looking talks.

You can see my talk abstract by clicking on my entry in the speakers section:

Talk Abstract: Beginning in March of 2017, we've seen Bitcoin dominance drop from above 80% down to as low as the mid 30s. The reasons for this are hotly debated, but it's undeniable space has been made for new approaches including DPOS, Delegated Proof of Stake, which powers the most active blockchains on the planet including BitShares, STEEM, and more recently, EOS. This cooperation over competition model for securing blockchains goes beyond protocol consensus to include on-chain governance. This new environment allows not only for DACs, Distributed Autonomous Communities, but for a new token-driven economy where incentives between token holders, block producers, users, and workers are in full alignment

In this talk, we'll explore DPOS, DACs, and on-chain governance. We'll see how the promise of blockchain disruption is being realized through enterprise-ready solutions for real-world applications. Examples will include the BitShares DEX, Steemit, DTube, DLive, Utopian.io, and more.

Bio: Since the middle of 2017, Luke has been a block-producing witness on the STEEM blockchain. He bought his first bitcoin in January of 2013 and has been passionate about cryptocurrency and decentralization ever since. In 2007, he co-founded and built the ecommerce shopping cart platform FoxyCart.com which he sold to his business partner in 2018 to focus full-time on the blockchain space.

If you're in the area, I hope you'll get a ticket and enjoy the conference! Come say hello and let me know what you think of my talk. I hope to start a lot of really valuable conversations.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, DAC launcher, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Learn about cryptocurrency at UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

Sort:  

Any idea, if there is going to be a live stream or not?

Any idea,
If there is going to be
A live stream or not?

                 - hashcash


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I don't think so, but that would be pretty cool.

Yeah, that'd be cool. If they have it then I am sure that a bunch of people from here including me would be logging in for it. The community here is cool as well, that way :-)

how cool. Have a fun trip. I've been meaning to visit colorado. See you at Steemfest

I still need to plan my trip out. Looking forward to it.

Sounds like a good time. My brother is out in Durango... maybe it's a good time to visit? Nah, my wife would kick my ass as school starts for the lil' ones next week......... keep us up to date. :)

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Without a doubt

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

i wish i could come but too far 😢

hey! i already follow you please follow me back and upvote my post

yes i'm waiting august discon will be come in august i know they will give you much profit <3

I am interesting and i wish i can be reach.
Thanks

This looks like it would be awesome to attend. I am still trying to find the time to get down to one of the meetings that EOSDetroit participates in. There is a huge blockchain community down there that I have been following on Slack.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62683.02
ETH 2962.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64