I am Me

in #disabled7 years ago (edited)

Hello. I am Lu Anne. I was brought to Steemit by my FB friend Wren. I am grateful for him and for listening to what he had to say about Steemit. I am excited!

I titled my intro Give Me Shelter because it is something that is taken for granted so much in our society today, and that more and more are going without. I'm borderline homeless. ....but then I changed the title cause it seems I am off subject. Oh well. Gotta be me!

It all started in October of 2016. I had been working for a nonprofit in Cortez Colorado, advocating for ppl with disabilities. It was a job I was passionate about, and I felt suited me well. I was disabled myself, but was classified as working disabled.
As what usually happens with so many jobs and me, a little over a year into the position I wind up being dismissed and given no reason.
I have always been different all my life, but being a survivor of 3 head injuries, one of them a traumatic brain injury, left me with mild deficits that make my "difference" even more so.
Pretty disheartening when you work for a place that gives preference to those who are disabled and working, and one still can't things work properly.
Aww well. I am me. This time tho, my sis Birdy, short for Roberta, stepped in and saved the day. She felt I should try something different, because the job thing just wasn't working. So I packed up stuff, with her help, and relocated to Montrose Co.
To be succint, if that's proper usage of the word, upon arrival I was a mess both physically and mentally. It got to where I wound up at the ER basically having a breakdown, and then having to advocate for my needs because the stupid teenage ER Dr. had no clue when it came to identifying and getting the proper help for someone like me. My shared thoughts on how I could overdose on my medication apparently did the trick tho, and finally she took me seriously enough to get me the help I needed.
In Colorado, the state where I live, the supports for mental health are dismal. We have one if the highest suicide rates, and one of the worst mental health systems. If you can call it a system. It's almost like they take the attitude "our state's so pretty we don't need to worry about suicide." Or "such beauty! Who would want to kill themselves??!

[Screenshot_20180110-222457.png]!()

Ahh but beauty is limited. It cannot feed you, shelter you, clothe you, or pay the bills (which are particularly pricey in this state). And so ppl get stressed out and do things like resort to drugs and partying to try and cope. Or they find it's all too much and choose suicide as a way out.
Beauty can be a curse! And it can fool even the smartest!! And yet soooooo many keep falling for it. Particularly men. There are like 7 men for every woman in this state. But yet the quality of men it attracts is questionable and well...if you're looking for a serious relationship, you gotta import!! And then you gotta make sure what ya import is good quality, or you're right back where ya started.
@ 51, and with 52 just round the corner, I have no interest in dating. Been there and done all that drama.
And so here I am, in the process of trying to get disability, which is not an efficient process in the states as the fed dun wanna pay it despite the fact it's our own money that we paid into.
Poorest I've ever been, and waiting for a check to come in.
Despite all this, I do find joy. Maybe it's the fact I consider myself Buddhist and love the writings.
I make handmade jewelry and enjoy photography amongst other things. One of my pieces.
Screenshot_20180111-131142.png

I paint too, although not in some time. I'm pretty much obsessed with making jewelry these days. It helps with my anxiety and pain.
I could list all my issues but I won't bother you. It's boring.
Well I guesstimate this is long enough. More later.
-Lu Anne

Sort:  

Being poor and hungry and hanging out with homeless people has been some of the best lessons I have learned ever. Here in Kelowna its easy to be homeless in the summer because its so warm, even though the city folk are dicks, in the winter not so much tho. Expensive too.
I hope things start working out for you! Glad you joined the inspiring community on here!

Ty! So far things keep working. Something happens that bails me out at the last minute that keeps me from having to go to the local shelter. For that I'm grateful. I also am extremely grateful to the two men, who are homeless themselves, that volunteered and helped me move due to my disabilities. That just blew me away!! They have nothing and yet still gave of themselves!!

Hello, a warm Steemit welcome to you!

For some reason your name makes me think of "cpt Mike". Not sure why! Lol

I believe you were on of the smart dudes in the game room!! Hello!

Hey Lu Anne
I read a lot of introduction posts everyday and only write to couple of them. And so I'll write to you because yes your writings do bring attention, such as the quality of your jewellery.

I've never been as "poor" (moneywise) today than ever, but I've never felt as happier as well... Health wise I'm blessed, fingers crossed.
Anyxays, putting all our thoughts in creativity is the best way for me to forget about our issues.

Keep creating and post your writings!

If you want to know more about me, here is my intro post : https://steemit.com/life/@stl.nolaim/gtnm-get-to-know-me-1

Feel free to comment back or follow me if you are interested !

All the best,

Nolaim

I can handle being poor. It's being destitute that's the challenge. No stability for me makes for a very unhealthy life, because it increases my anxiety which creates further health problems

I agree with you and it takes a lot of work to achieve stability.
And once things are stable, it all messes up and we just have to get back to keeping everything together. Good luck for any of your projects

Tyvm! You are so correct! I am fortunate that today I moved into a better place with someone who is also disabled but overcomes her challenges on a daily basis. She's worked for the same company 20 years. Bravo for her!!

Welcome Lu Anne! Ill follow your posts! Im a friend of Lyndsay Bowes from FB - she's awesome

Ty so much!! I enjoy the blogging Steemit atmosphere!

Ahh...nice photo,
and refering to this:
"I consider myself Buddhist and love the writings."
are u really a buddhist?
will be appreciated if you write more about their philosohpy and beliefs...

I'm probably Buddhist light. Lol. I went to a Catholic University to discover other religions. lol.

great , so you're so open minded and got achieved with ubiquitous assimilation...(the term mentioned in the movie "detatchment"...

Maybe. I see it more as Buddhism changes me, helps me. Not how can I change that around me.

Welcome to Steemit. Though I've already been talking to you in chat.

You might consider selling jewelry on the block chain. There's not a lot of people selling stuff here yet, but a lot of people get paid on here, and it's not easy to get it out.

Ty. Not easy to get what out?

it's not easy to get crypto exchanged for fiat currency.

I do not know what fiat is but my friend Wren has gotten his out.

I didn't say it was impossible. Just not easy.

Basically, it's annoying. You have to sign up for multiple accounts, and verify them with your ID.

Welcome to steemit @luanne. I love Colorado, but don't get to spend as much time as I would like there. I hope you enjoy it here.

I do!! Chat is entertaining too!

waves at Lu Anne Welcome to Steemit! I hope it works awesome for you!
Regarding selling your jewelry here, you might try listing it with steembay? I have tried selling a couple of times with no success, but bought from it once, and other people have sold things. Maybe jewelry would do well? Or let @pennsif know to include you in "businesses accepting Steem" if you want?

I will definitely check it out!!

Welcome to steemit @luanne, I hope you find much prosperity here that adds some Ease and Peace to your life <3 Thanks for joining!

I'm very excited to be here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63557.03
ETH 3400.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44