You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I did something that will actually benefit me.

in #disabled8 years ago

What a cool story! Reading about your disability makes me think that sometimes when I find myself being "forced" to hold the baby when I really need to accomplish something that takes both hands, I kind of feel temporarily disabled. Next time that happens (probably later today LOL), I'm going to think about you and other people who actually feel that way all the time and pray for you all. I can put the baby down and I get all my mobility back instantly, plus the baby will grow up. But you live with this 24/7.

When I was still pregnant with Baby, I was in a lot of pain in the last month or so. Walking was hard for that reason. One time I went to Sam's Club to run a quick errand, and as I'm slowly walking in, I saw the mobile shopping cart, and it suddenly dawned on me that right then, I was the reason those carts exist. I got on one, and tried it out. I think I may have asked the associate to show me how to work it. Anyway, it was so much fun! I could get around the store easily and pain free. Now I can walk just fine, but I think at that time I was less than a week away from giving birth.

Sort:  

Its hard adjusting from being able bodied to disabled, losing the use of my legs has been a massive change to my life. I am considering buying a mobility scooter so I can get myself out more, this is a massive step for me

Maybe you can get it painted in a cool design. I once read a post where an artist painted a little girl's wheelchair to look like the Batmobile, and really made her day :)

I'm going to buy myself my own scooter this was the supermarkets. I'm going to get mine jazzed up to reflect the real me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60270.89
ETH 2383.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57