Commenting on an article in the Oxfordshire Post whether dieting is worth it?

in #dieting6 years ago


I am neither a dietician or a nutritionist but in my opinion most people are not aware that dieting is not necessarily beneficial to you unless you have made a particular choice to change your lifestyle habits.
First of all you will need ask yourself why you are dieting. Is it for a specific purpose, do you wish to lose weight or it is for fat loss or do you wish to gain weight?
This time last year I went to see a nutritional coach because I wanted her to help me attain a better and more healthier fitness regime. She put me on a gut repairing diet that required me to be very strict with what I eat. This meant no gluten or wheat or refined sugars. However, at the end of the course of the diet I found it too challenging to persist with it. There were days I didn't get adequate sleep and I would find I was diving into carbohydrate rich snacks late at night. I had hoped over the course of the year I would lose a stone or so of fat. Losing fat I have not although I have succeeded putting on muscle but my weight has remained constant.
Where I found dieting became difficult to relate to was during the course of the year there would be weeks at a time where I would really focus hard on keeping the calories down, I would do intermittent fasting and really limit the calories to as much as half the recommended calorie for a man often only consuming 1,500 calories daily without losing any weight whatsoever.
Therefore my opinion of dieting is that it might not serve the purpose it is all hyped up to be unless you have a specific goal and are prepared to keep on the new diet for the remainder of your li

Sort:  

Congratulations @aspieandme! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @aspieandme! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed
SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69