Intermittent fasting - The Beginning

in #diet7 years ago

Untitled-1.png


Intermittent fasting - The Beginning

Intro


So, just a quick introduction to myself and my body. I am 26 and don't see myself as typically 'Overweight'. I do however know I have gained some unwanted weight over the years and would love to burn a few of them off.

I have tried countless amounts of 'diets' and weight loss programs and some were effective but eventually led me back to gaining weight again.

Overall I am relatively happy with where I am now but I heard about this thing called 'Intermittent Fasting' and thought...

Hey lets give it a go!

So, here I am. I am going to be testing myself to see if I can 'Intermittently Fast' for a few weeks and see the results.

I will be trying the 16:8 approach. This entitles fasting for 16 hours a day. Essentially I will be skipping breakfast and only eating between the hours of 12 pm - 8 pm

Starting Stats


Screenshot_20170516-081001.png

So here are my statistics starting out. These figures were taken on Tuesday 16th May. As you can see my BMI is 29.8 which is way too high!

It will be interesting to see the same tests done after 1 week and see if anything has changed.


I have taken starting pictures and will be taking pictures each week of my body. I won't be posting them on here yet but I may do if I see results and feel comfortable enough to do so!


I hope you will follow me on the journey and check in every week for an update. As I started the fasting on Tuesday, I will be posting the first weeks update Tuesday/Wednesday next week. :)

Please leave some comments or questions if you have any.

I will leave you a picture illustrating some benefits to Intermittent Fasting.

Sort:  

Slayerkm,

Intermittent fasting is a good way to go. I do 16:8 informally (as in no regular schedule of days when I fast. Once you get used to it, it is pretty easy to do. I will often eat my last meal between 4 or 5 pm, then have breakfast around 9am. If you drink coffee, I've found that mixing a little coconut oil into a cup of coffee first thing in the morning kills my appetite for hours, making it easier to continue the fast.

I hope these tips help you in your project.

Good luck!
--Bill

Hi Bill,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm the same in regards to informally as I work shift work but I always manage to do the 16 hours fast. (Well i'm on day 4 now). I will give the coconut oil a go as I am a big coffee drinker :)

thanks

Don't worry too much about your BMI.. It is a misleading measure of how overweight you are. The only inputs are your age, weight and height, so a body builder, who is not fat at all would have a large BMI..

Yes I know this, I'm quite a broad person like even when I was at my 'healthiest' state my BMI is high. I'm more looking towards the body fat % in my statistics. Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59171.28
ETH 2598.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42