Dieting Via Fruit Fasts and Fasts....

in #diet7 years ago

I gave up smoking 7 years, three months and three weeks ago... and in that time, I have put on an average of approximately 4 pounds/ 2 kilograms each year.

That's 28 pounds/ 14 kilograms, that I've put on in total. Which means I have gone well-and-truly-pear-shaped. It's not pretty... and I'm pretty sure that the health benefits of not smoking are now being offset by the disadvantages of being over-weight.

I had a really pleasantly slim figure when I was a smoker... and at 47 years old (as I was when I smoked my last cigarette) that is no mean feat... and the reason was because I exercised regularly

At 55, I still exercise. I do yoga, I swim and I go to the gym. I exercise pretty regularly, but to no real effect. And if I push it too hard... as I did recently... then I strain or sprain something and I have to rest up for days or weeks... and then the few ounces I lost pile themselves back on... and then some!

It is frustrating, to say the least.

I have been struggling with a sore arm for weeks now... and every time I think it is better, I go to the pool and then the next day it is sore again.

So, I am going to have to do something I never thought I would EVER have to do!

DIET.

That's right... I'm going on a diet.

I have devised a dietary regime all of my own, which I think will be difficult, but not so difficult that I will cave it. Five days a week I'm going to eat whatever I like, just as I used to, seven days a week. Then, on Wednesdays I am going to eat ONLY FRUIT. And on Saturdays I am going to do a water fast.

I have heard that fruit fasts are good for you, and so I figure, one day a week of only fruit will be relatively easy, because at least I am eating. The Saturday will be more difficult, eating nothing and drinking only water, but I have done it before. I've done full day water fasts before taking Ayahuasca... and yes, it was tough, but not so tough that I cracked.

So that is the plan.

I haven't weighed myself in a while, but I know I am approximately 87.5kg or 193lbs or 13st, 11lbs.... maybe a wee fraction more.

That's maybe not so bad for a 55 year old dude who is 5 feet 11 inches (or 180cm), but it is still a lot more than I was 7 years ago...

And although I think it might be too difficult to get back to 160lbs or 73kg, if I could get half way back there I would be pleased.

I'm sharing this with you, for those of you who are interested, and I will post updates every month or so, and see if my new regime is effective... and if it is, maybe you will want to give it a try. I think, dieting just two days a week is better than having to diet 7 days a week...

Sort:  

Great plan. I follow you in order to see wether it works. I quit and gained as well so might be a good example for me if it works. Good luck!

I will keep you posted. This is my first day. It's already 4pm and I really don't feel so bad. Reckon the fruit days will be pretty good. The water days will be more difficult. But I'm not working those days, so it won't be so bad.

This happened to me after quitting smoking too! I was always such a skinny guy and now not so much anymore. Lately I've been trying to not eat as much and I'm trying to ignore the groans that my stomach makes until at least noon. I read that this feeling in the stomach is a signal for when your body goes into "Starvation Mode" - and that is when it starts to go after the fat. Fat are reserves of energy that the body puts away for later use when there is no energy coming in.

I don't know if will work but I'm trying.

I hope it works for you brother. Best of luck with it.

best of luck with the waters fasts, great idea! I'm on one myself right now, wish you the best - I'll keep be keeping an eye out if you decide to blog about it as I'm trying to organize once a week fasts in the steemit community.

That sounds like a good idea. I do my water fasts on a Saturday. It is the old "sabbath day". In Spanish it is called sabado. I like the idea of doing it then because it is a day of rest... so you are also resting your digestive system. It is also good, because most of us are off work then. So consider organising doing it on a saturday and I will join the group. But I actually didn't do it yesterday because I had to work. I'm never going to water fast and work at the same time, that would be too challenging!

Interestingly, a lot of people workout in a fasted state (myself included). I find that especially if you fast for more than 1 day, on the second day you get a lot of energy (I believe the reason is HGH production and adrenaline are quite high, not entirely sure though). You could try experimenting with that and seeing how you feel sometime.

I might try fasting for two days some time myself, and see how that works out for me, but at the moment it takes me all my will power to get through one day of fruit fasting and one day of water fasting.

It becomes a lot easier once you adapt your body to burning fat instead of sugar. I couldn't imagine going an entire day without food sometime ago, now I recently went a week. I don't think I have really good will power at all, just that I made it easier for my body to handle. That said, it is still impressive you so doing intermittent water fasts - don't discredit that achievement as it is having great health benefits.

Great article!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62810.21
ETH 3407.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42