Diary of a young frustrated man

in #diary6 years ago


This is the first post of a series of posts documenting my day to day as an educator. I'll be writing about all the glory, sacrifices, heartache, headaches, joy and adventures of being a teacher.

The beginning

It's quite unfortunate that I have to start this series on a sour note. Today I was called to the principal's office upon my arrival at work. What transpired in there upset me greatly.
source
Being an employee at times is somewhat disheartening. No matter how hard you try you just have to do as you are told. You remedy a situation that was not of your own doing. This is the situation I found myself in today.

I explained how I got into teaching in these two posts Post 1 and Post 2. The road has been tough. I thought this year things would get better but it seems that they are about to get a little more frustrating.

What transpired in the meeting

Here I am sitting in the principal's office. We had a meeting last week regarding my studying further yet again this year. I told her I am fine with that and that I will register in the second semester. According to her it will be too late by that time.

She warns that the district office will terminate my contract in June this year if I'm not registered at a university.
But here's the kicker, the same district that is giving me this ultimatum is the same one that remained quiet for almost two years as I was studying a course they consider to be irrelevant.

How the district office is screwing me over

In 2016 I enrolled into an institution where I was studying a diploma in higher education. I submitted proof of registration including the modules entailed to the district office. They confirmed receiving my documents.

Now if I was studying an irrelevant diploma, they had plenty of time to tell me to stop it or add to it. Did they do that? NO! They left me to continue studying until I completed the diploma.

The principal called me in early January of this year telling me that the district needs to have my certificate of completion in order to convert my post into a permanent post. I owed the university a lot of money so I had to take a loan to pay it off and attain my proof of completion.

Last week I receive a letter stating that my qualification was irrelevant and that I should study a more relevant course in this semester… WITH WHAT MONEY?!!! I am in debt because of them.
Who's fault is it that I wasn't informed off this back in 2016 when they received my proof of registration? Why didn't they tell me then to switch courses? Why did they mislead me into believing I would be converted when I submitted my proof of completion that caused cost me to take out a loan?

I am livid as I'm typing this blog… I don't know what I'm going to do. I just need to get some sleep and calm myself down.
source

Sort:  

Teaching is not an easy thing to do, especially in the current school system.
My wife is a teacher and she also struggles quite a bit.
The district is definitely screwing you over, I'd also be just as mad as you are if that were to happen to me.
It'll get better in the future, at least you have a job, there are a lot of people that would kill for any type of income.

I am grateful that I have this job believe me. I love what I do and I care for my babies. It's just that I'm getting the back end of the stick here and they won't listen to reason. I am only asking for 5 months to at least pay off half the loan I took because of them before I take out another loan. Is that too much to ask under these circumstances?

Hello Solomon,

Sorry to hear about your dilemma.

I'm in Canada, so maybe it's different in Nigera, but if you're already a teacher, why do you have to go back to school. I can see you possibly needing to if you were a student-teacher, but not a full teacher.

Granted, it's always good to have higher eduction, but to be forced to...? It seems very odd to me.

Hey DK. I am actually in South Africa. I suppose things are different here. This is my third year teaching. I honestly don't know what these people want from me. But I'm ok today. I won't let this keep me down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65348.61
ETH 3557.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45