When You Stretch out, What Do You Find? - April 5|Day #5 - Diary of The Struggling Writer from Ife

in #diary6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180331_202354_033.jpg

Dear Diary

When a man sees his end, he begins to question the purpose of his life. He wonders to himself if everything he has pursued or given up was worth it. He questions his existence, his nature, his life. However, death is only scary when he stretches his hand into the expanse of his life and finds nothing to hold on to, nothing to comfort him, nothing to assure him of a life well spent.

I spent the last few moments wondering about my life. I do not think I am nearing my end, but in these moments of loneliness, it is easy for the mind to wander and wander until it begins to question itself.

I believe that humans are wired to create and share. Every human endeavour boils down to these two things, everything else is secondary. Creating and sharing occur both in tangible and non-tangible forms. Writers create pieces, artists create art, scientists/inventors create stuff. And then we share it; maybe not with everyone, but we share it nonetheless.

And then there is the non-tangible part. We create bonds of love, loyalty, happiness, principles, values and even the bad stuff like sorrow and hatred. Of course, we share all of that too. Sometimes, not directly though. But as we live our lives, we share the stuff we’ve created with those we come in contact with in varying degrees.

Moving forward, when a man (or woman or […]) reaches out, it is the things he has created and shared that are available to him. They are the things that can give him great warmth, comfort and happiness. The happiness he has created, the warmth he has shared, the creations he had invested his life into, the wealth and knowledge he has created and shared… all of these things will bear heavily when a man considers his end.

At the end, it is not the cars, or the houses, or the million Steempower that matters. It is a life that has created and shared. That kind of life is one that would be loved, appreciated and valued. Even thieves who have devised ingenious ways to steal will be ‘valued’ for their creation, especially by those they have shared it with.

My point here is that life is made up of memories; memories of the things we have created and shared. At the end, the real things we leave behind are memories. Whatever assets we bequeath to the living will be viewed and appreciated based on the memories we also leave behind. All of the creating and sharing make up our memories.

So when I think of death, I am not that scared. I just feel the pressure of tine on me, the limits of the resources at my disposal and the potential I have to create and share, ultimately making the world a better place, or leaving it worst that I met it.

I make a choice. To create and share words, thoughts and actions; principles, ideals and values; relationships, bonds and affiliations that spread the fragrance of love, light and happiness. At the end, I want to be able to reach out and feel the good I have done.

The Palm - April 4|Day #4 - Diary of The Struggling Writer from Ife

The Introduction Is Everything - April 3|Day #3 - Diary of The Struggling Writer from Ife

Gratitude - April 2|Day #2 - Diary of The Struggling Writer from Ife

Season of Crimson Blossoms - April 1|Day #1 - Diary of The Struggling Writer from Ife

______________________________________________________

Daily contests

To appreciate those who come around, I am also hosting a daily contest.

I got no entries yesterday. Thanks to @botefarm @obaseki @jo5h @julietisrael @warpedpoetic @henry-gant @moneyinfant and @mistermercury who have dropped by in recent posts.

Blessings

For newcomers, here’s how to participate

  1. Upvote and Resteem this post

  2. Write your entry in the comment section based on the prompt for the day

  3. Use the tag #myentry so I can tell entries from normal comments.

The prompt for today is: What do you think counts at the very end?

Winners will be announced in the next post

Thanks for reading

Blessings

[Image Source: I took the picture with my phone and edited it]

Sort:  

An enjoyable read, @iamthegray.

My calm surprised me, coming up to five years ago, when faced with the prospect of my own impermanence.

It's covered a bit in my blog if that stuff interests you.

https://steemit.com/crypto/@novacadian/a-new-meaning-to-the-word-hodl-or-when-bitcoins-is-like-a-cancer-diagnosis

Sorry for the late reply

I did check out your post. It was a great read.

While I cannot claim to have experienced tough health crises, I think I can relate with the calm part.

Thanks for your comment

Blessings

#myentry

What counts at the end basically has to do with what is good. Success, joy, Happiness, etc are all good things and are those things that mankind expects at the end of a situation or life. Good things always count at the end unlike war, death, sadness, sorrow etc are not to happen at the end.

Thanks for your entry

Blessings

Congratulations!,@iamthegray Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn

Benefactor : @bleepcoin

Curator On Duty: Richie, the Manual Bot</br/>
Join the @eoscafe community [https://discord.gg/wdUnCdE] Invited By @akintunde

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.21$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83