I think I need a budget, but it's so hard to hold back

in #diary5 years ago (edited)

This happened a few years ago too, and it's been worrying me. I worked for a few months and I managed to save around $300 (the rest, I spent on things I "needed" like clothes, more clothes, and lots of shampoo). I bought a $300 phone. Somebody mugged me 2 months later and I blamed myself because I couldn't buy another phone now.

That's the problem when you have nothing and then you have something. I felt the need to pamper myself because I had been through such hardships before. I wanted to feel the quality that money could bring, and now I had the money to buy a proper phone at last, after years of suffering from the slowest of devices. I couldn't buy anything for myself. I had spent years without buying clothes, without going out in fear of spending too much. So I had the money, I pampered myself, and then I lost it all, and my job wasn't giving me as much money as before, so I didn't have the chance to buy anything anymore.

I lost my chance to save for my future because I didn't have a budget. I blamed myself for 2 years for that. I "punished" myself to scarcity. I wanted to show myself that I could be stingy too, that I didn't have to give away and buy away and immediately release every coin I ever had in my hands. I thought it had worked. And now I have the chance to save, I have a bit of money, and here I am, thinking about using it on a phone, and getting my dad to buy one for my brother, who's been in a similar situation as mine.

I feel like I'm going to lose the phone. It's cheaper than the one I bought before, but not by that much. Am I a spendthrift? I would say I'm not, but I still notice the same pattern as before. I see an increased balance and it doesn't mean "save for a few months or years later", it means "what can I spend it on?". I'm very saddened that this is my mindset. I want to be able to be prosperous, to have a bright future.

One thing that has been saving me so far is that every time I see some income and I don't have anything to spend it on, I power it up to Steem Power. Steem Power can only be released after 3 months of continuous powering down and we're discouraged to do that. I feel like it has been teaching me the power of saving. I must have earned more than that in the past in total, but I spent it all on things that I no longer have, but this year, most of my earnings have gone into Steem Power. And as Steem Power grows, I hold more, and I'm able to do more things on Steem and I have a bigger earning potential.

But I also have liquid funds, and now that I have them, I'm already looking at phones and things to pay. I rented a server too. It's all "investments", but does a phone pay for itself in the long term? It's just a tool for comfort and convenience. And when I have it, I will be so scared of leaving my home with it that I will either hire taxis or leave it here when I go out. What's the point then? Now I doubt every expense I've had in the last few months. I want to save, but I spend as if there were no tomorrow. I guess I'm the result of Venezuela's inflation, where everything you earn, you have to invest it somewhere. Holding Venezuelan currency for a few months means turning what could have been a car into a family trip to a restaurant.

I now look at my home and see all of the unused things. Did we need to buy them? A piano that no one plays, a guitar that no one plays, a few electronic goods we bought to resell but we haven't even touched. So, here I am, without much money, and I see that we spent a lot of money on things we didn't need. I have to question every expense now, but it's hard. I don't know how to budget or to save for my future. I feel like having money is a pit where I fall and only by spending it, I can climb out, in order to have things and nothing to spend. It feels like I'm the misled child of the God of Chaos.

Sort:  

Am I a spendthrift?

No one in Venezuela is currently a spendthrift.

If you have the money in bolivars, it is best to buy something fast, even a piano for the basement, because nothing loses its value as much as the Venezuelan fiat.

If you think you really need a phone, then you should buy it, but if you doubt, then it is not a necessity. It's like eating, no one hesitates to spend their money on food, people just hesitate about what to buy, the cheapest or what they want?

As you say, I do hesitate to spend money on certain foods, just like I hesitate to spend money on buying specific kinds of phones. Right now I'm looking at a $250 phone because it's got everything I need. I can be satisfied with it for years if nobody steals it from me.

I don't earn in bolivars and haven't for years. Right now I'm more on the crypto side of things, but I had a time when I got payments on Paypal (once you get into decentralisation, Paypal seems like plain abuse).

Spending this money won't cripple me, but it's money I could save, a big % of my total (hence why I think of budgeting). I want to save because I just started earning.
Just like people wear new clothes for new years, I want to save when I started earning to adjust my behaviour. But just as the "year" starts, I welcome it by buying an "expensive" phone.

It's not that expensive compared to what I really want, but everyone around me has $100-$150 phones, people complain about poverty, people starve, and I really want to succeed. But a $150 phone is really too bad, it will be slow, it will be clunky and I will never feel "at home" with it. I got a $190 one that got stolen and I felt like I had wasted my money. It heated up, the battery didn't last, and it only had like 5 free gigabytes.

But then I look at my future and think, don't I want to leave? Don't I want to learn to drive and buy a car for myself? Don't I want to be able to buy a home for myself even if those around me can't? I despair because it's like walking in the wrong direction, though sometimes you have to make stops to arrive faster.

And then again, phones get stolen all the time. I've lost quite a few. I had promised myself not to buy one until I left Venezuela, but it's taking too long. I despair.

Somewhere I hear that comfort zones are made so as not to change our situation, it is about making a situation comfortable so that you don't have to change it. It seems to me when you decide to buy a phone, you do it to make your situation more comfortable, and therefore, to lengthen it, that is, and what this means is that, the more you invest in converting your current situation comfortably, the less you will do to change it.

What I am going to tell you now is not the same situation, but it serves to illustrate it; Have not you seen the reckless people who live on "ranchos", and instead of saving for a house, they make their "rancho" more comfortable; with stairs, second floor, sound equipment, etc.? They make their situation comfortable instead of changing it.

Maybe you should choose if you want this or that.

Maybe the rancho can instead be compared to buying a cheaper phone instead of working harder and earning enough for a better one.

Also. You are the one who knows after all.

OmniscientSharon

Lol, I had read it as "who knows it all"

I almost forgot, also that. ;)

Oh, how I feel you...

I can really relate to the feeling of wanting to spend it all at once, but I do consider that's a psychological behavior we've developed by the Venezuelan crisis. When it comes to my expenses I just try to spend the least I can in everyway. I also feel very uncomfortable when almost emptying my wallet because I feel like all of my effort just goes not really invested in anything, only on food or things that won't give an actual income for spending on them.

But alas, not everything is lost. One tip I would recommend you consider is.... to not always go for the thing with the most 0's on it. Ask yourself if you really need what you're about to buy. (That's my only excuse for buying food) Always go for what you need, not what you would like to get if you were rich, because you're not. I'm not and also most people aren't rich either. If we always go for the things we desire the most, we'll probably run out of funds rather quickly, so there's that.

Hope this helps you even a little bit!

I'll try to earn as much money as fast as I can right now. Maybe if I earn a lot of money this month, I'll feel better about the expense. :D

Maybe! Just don't spend it all in one go!

spends it all

a good phone is a basic tool in this times to my mind. Not being able to use it safely in public is sad. Anyways, I would feel naked myself without a proper connected device on me all the time. Okay, my work depends on it and I'm a nerd, but though - a phone is never a waste of money.

Not being able to use it safely in public is sad

True :( It's horrible. I feel trapped in my home most of the time because if this. I'm scared of our public transportation and there's no reliable private transportation near me.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Este Post ha sido votado por @gatillo y curado por @bebeth para @steempress-io


https://discord.gg/AgtNh53


Ya que utiliza el servicio de hospedaje de WordPress de @reveur y el plugin de @steempress-io para publicar contenido en nuestro idioma, el #castellano, si deseas saber mas o formar parte, haz click en la imagen para entrar a nuestro discord.

Un proyecto del Witness: @castellano y @nnnarvaez

Hi @cryptosharon!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.438 which ranks you at #2079 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 41 places in the last three days (old rank 2038).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 255 contributions, your post is ranked at #103.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96