You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Eine Bitte zum Sonntag (D) / A plead for Sunday (E).

in #deutsch5 years ago

That is what the church I have been baptised expects you to do too. To give 10% or more of your income to them.
I received a card for my 18nd birthday from them. First time I heard from them.
Attached to the card was an envelope with the next text printed on it "You probably want to give your financial gift for receiving this".

Two or three days later two people knocked on my door. They came to collect the envelope. I told them I had no intention to pay them for a card I did not ask for. They told me it was custom since I was a member of the church and I had to pay the 10% of my income. I told them to cancel the membership I did not ask for. I was a single mom with a baby in a house with no furniture. Just a baby room and a bed for me, my hair fell out and I had no intention to give my money to a church that never cared about me and never would.

They knew where to find me to get money but not if it came to giving aid. Even worse... as I moved over there they thought I was my grandfather. Yes, the one who was dead since 18 years!

They told me I could not subscribe. I said wanne bet! They really made me mad and in the end I think they did delete me from their register. I never heard from them again also not as I moved to other places.

I dont believe god will reward you if you give money to a church. You better take care of yourself first and do good to the people around you if you can.

It is no deed of love to give your money to an institution but a deed done out of fear. If I renember well it is even written in the bible churches should not exist. They only gather more richdom and do not care about the people.

Look at Vatican city it is a shame how the pope and rest lives. Happy day 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

@wakeupkitty I have never heard of a church coming to the door to collect "tides" ( I think that is what my mom calls it) and good for you for telling them no. I would have done the same. I think the church is a good thing for lonely people to get together but not for giving their money to. I was also a young mother at 17, you grow up fast when you have a kid to care for.

You grow up fast indeed and I agree it might be a good place if you are lonely. To be honest I doubt churches over here welcome you with Christmas or they are open at night and you will be helped if you knock on their door. I only heard Jehova witnesses help and advice each other. 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55