DESIGN A CHARACTER - Season 9 - entry Tony DiTerlizzi Styley with Timelapse.

in #designacharacter6 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians
This is my second entry for the latest Design a Character contest hosted by @w0olf.
This is a style challenge, where we create an original character design in one of three styles, I picked out Tony DiTerlizzi for this peice :)

Check out the video of the process below. This was great fun and also a little unnatural as I don't usually leave much of my pencil sketches behind when painting.

Final Image
Hats off Steve

I created this using graphite pencil for main design and painted digitally on my Android Tablet, using Layerpaint HD. As I drew this, I started to notice a loose likeness to Steve Buscemi and used him as a reference at times, so the strange fella is now called Steve :D
Of course sticking to Tony DiTerlizzi fantasy style, with a slightly muted tone, pencil and or penwork, combined with paint.

As for my process check out my timelapse video, with amazing music courtesy of @jeffandhisguitar, please make sure you check out his blog too! Awesome tunes from an awesome dude.

For completeness here's the Pencil Drawing
MVIMG_20180331_221821.jpg

If you like what you see, don't forget an upvote or resteem is always appreciated, plus I love seeing feedback from people :)

Thanks
Nick

Click here to see my first entry to this contest

Update: Adding a bonus picture of my 8 year old daughters Mike Mignola style, it's called Bunny Attack. Attack of a million bunny heads :D
IMG_20180331_081611.jpg

Sort:  

oh this is gorgeous!

Good work. Great frog like Steve Buscemi :D

Thanks, glad you like it :-)

hehe Steve :) I love the bunny drawing your daughter did too!
I enjoyed your time lapse, I need to figure out how to do one of those. So much goes into piece and it is so neat not to lose it.

Nice art and good luck!

Unique character! U got skills

ah man... I really like it with the pencil marks visible... you should do that "unnatural" thing more often... it's a good thing to step out of the comfort zone :P

:) thanks @fraenk ok sounds like a good idea, uncomfortable time it is :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by niko3d from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61092.62
ETH 2666.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62