Design A Character week 6 - shape challenge + time lapse

in #designacharacter6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians and other nautical creatures!

Voilà my entry for @w0olf's #designacharacter contest week numero 6:

ZE MIGHTY SHAPE CHALLENGE!!!
booming voice echoes through the stadium

shape_challenge.jpg

these were the shapes:
week6shapes.png

And here's the time lapse my lovelies, in case you're interested:



shape challenges are always tough for me because there's always that little part that doesn't quite fit into the shapes given, and the temptation to "fix" elements of the design is always strong.

It's an excellent exercise to do on your own as well though, especially when you run out of ideas. Squiggle a random shape, see what ideas it sparks and go elaborate, re-shape, change etc from there. try it, it's fun!

I decided to go with a more painterly approach this time because I hardly ever do that.
I don't know if you can tell but most of the time I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing when I colour. Not so much palette wise maybe, but definitely when it comes to light sources and shadows and value and contrast. sigh.

Pro tip for the lazy: Blend mode layers make everything better <3
I adore multiply, overlay and colour dodge.
I know I should know how to paint that shit by hand, but I don't. <--- technology victim.

Also, I don't know if you can tell, but I got progressively less inspired and lazy with each creature I coloured... probably had to do with the fact I was sacrificing sleep again because "I have to finish the thiiiing! No I can't leave it till tomorrow, what are you saaayyiiing???!!"

As is most of my art lately, materials are:
my trusty Ipad Pro + Apple Pencil + Procreate combo.
I am in ze luuuurve~~

ANYWHO!
gotta get back to stuff. enjoy~!

Toodles,
till the next time my loves <3

Sort:  

i love these jill! they are super cute!

(i thought i had commented and upvoted before but i guess it was lost in one of the many, many tabs i had opened for steeming ; __ ;)

anyway, better late than never... right? :D

<3333333333

hahaha I love you XD

These are awesome, love the almost "psychedelic" colouring style, for a lack of a better word. That orange really pulls my eye. Well done. :D

Yaay thanks! Yeah man I’m a huge colour dodge and overlay blend mode fan 😂

cute characters and great practice to create in a single empty form! that's something newcomers should try it out and spend hrs!

Very true! :D

These are great! Really cute and so polished :)

Thank you! Well I tried the “painterly” approach this time. :) I don’t do that often because I’m usually too lazy haha

YAY! You made it Jill! :D
Happy to see your entry, which is really great!
Thanks for participating! AUSTRIA FTW!! xD

Hahaha thanks! And f*ck yeah! Whoohooo!

they r sooo cute rly love the outcoming and the color u chose r just perfect x3

Awww thank you so much! ♥️

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


oh yes absolutely!
damn it's been a bit long now maybe, I'm sorry I had a super busy week at work and only just saw this! :(
thank you very much for the consideration though, it's greatly appreciated even in case it might be too late now, since this post is already 5 days old... :(

yes, unfortunately the post is a little old to nominate :( hope to nominate some future work :) good day...

no problem, I thought so!
thank you all the same, and good day to you too! :D

@jillustrations Very cute and great interpretation of the shapes :) Would be a fun, creative activity with the kids.

thank you! Oh yes, you should definitely try that with the kids! would be fun to see what they come up with :D

Love the second one .... i watched the time laps and still no clue how you managed to get such colors on it...just gorgeous.

hahaha thanks a bunch!! <3 <3
I can tell you ;) if you use photoshop - do your basic colouring and then you make another layer on top and set the blend mode to "colour dodge" - pick a bright ish colour (you might have to try around a bit to see which colour works) and just go a bit nuts painting over it. I recommend experimenting around with different blend modes on layers to see what they all do!
it's a lot of fun!
To add more contrast in the shadows for example I set a layer to "multiply" and then paint in the shadows with a purple-ish colour at around half opacity. if it's still too contrasty when I'm done (which it usually is) I jst turn down the opacity of the layer some more until I feel like the intensity works.
I usually do the colour dodge pass after that, over top of everything. it has this awesome "glowy" effect, but again you need to be aware of the opacity you're applying it with. it's usually a bit strong at full opacity.

"overlay" also works quite nicely in some cases.

Just give it a go ;)

i dont use ps...but corel...but will try it anyway...im doing a mermaid this week and love the efect and wanna have something similar on her tail...so ty!

cool stuff! let me know if it works out! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87