DESIGN A CHARACTER - Season 9 - Style challenge: Tony DiTerlizzi Style/My Entry 1 Cidru The HerbologiststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #designacharacter6 years ago (edited)

345fd1cc-befb-4609-9ff0-c2f10576ed4b.png

Cidru The Herbologist

This is my first entry to design a character season 9 under Tony DiTerlizzi style. This is hosted by @w0olf you can check this post for the contest details.

Character name: Cidru
Background: This character is the Herbologist of the small elvish village called Leleku. He is one of the elders governing the said village who possess an ancient wisdom and magical know how.

The process:
For this character I want to show the fantasy art style of Tony DiTerlizzi. I love the story book look and feel of his creations. It was not easy but I tried my best as his works are aspirational for me.

I used Autodesk mobile app for this entry.

  1. Creating the Line art. I know I want to create an elf-like creature with the inspiration of Tony D's drawings on Dungeons and Dragons. This line drawing tells of the prominence of big eyes, elf ears and cute little toes. Those are my main focus.
    000c06a9-529d-4b23-bdf1-8decaa61e9ee.png

  2. Testing some colors to fit the aging character of Cidru as well as motions or gestures. Platinum hair is what I have in mind at this stage. Subdued colors on the clothes look great.

f3170791-c561-4d9a-bd59-5d85b94e06ba.png

  1. At this stage of conceptualizing I pretty much have an idea of the general look of Cidru. The outfit and its colors sorted. The elements for the Herbologist determined which are a bunch of green kangkong and a concoction bottle. The mood or characteristic of Cidru identified, I want him to look aged yet innocent with a touch of cuteness.

ae08533c-99ee-4bf8-9ce4-12c2792d6dde.png

  1. Finer details. The challenging part is in the finer details. I used the pencil brush option and adjusted it to 80% value for a finer feather like strokes which reflects Tony DiTerlizzi's style.

99cbf4bb-4349-4a6b-990f-a20ad1aa83ef.png

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Thank you so much

Inspirational post! You know what they say.. "To handle yourself, use your head; to handle others, use your heart."

Thank you. That is one good thought you left there. I appreciate it.

Hello friend. You can win 3.5 SBD Pencil Drawing Contest.Check latest post at @smartworld for detail info. Good luck

Thanks I'll have a look.

Wow greate article!
Thanks for using the @postdoctor service!

You got a 27.42% upvote from @slimwhale courtesy of @dinglehopper!

Did you know you can make a passive income by simply delegating steem power?
@slimwhale offers the best return on your investment, sharing 100% of the bidding pool rewards, daily, proportional to your investment.
Let's grow together, start earning now by clicking the following links: 10SP, | 50SP | 500SP, | any amount |
For more information, see here or join me on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81