My First Figma Design Experience

in #design6 years ago

Group.png

During a software development Internship, I got introduced to an online collaborative design tool FIGMA. You should check it out here (figma.com).

The user interface looked great and was very easy to navigate.
Because of this simplicity, I picked interest in design and was having a good time while practicing. So one day, my mentor in design asked me to design a page for Book Management system. I was very happy that at last someone would know how far I have gone with designs and get to criticize my work. I designed it and sent to her for review but the response I got was funny , discouraging and enlightening.

She dropped a whole lot of comments on the design which I had to go read up on to enable me do it better.
After seeing the comments I realized that because of tiny things which I did not pay attention to a good idea was messed up in design.

Below are some of the things I learnt after the review;

  1. Instead of continuously expanding a frame so it can contain my design, I have to zoom and squeeze my design into one frame.
  2. My fonts sizes were poor and followed no pattern.
  3. My text box was far below normal.
  4. My color combination was terrible. I mixed bright colors with bright colors.
  5. My icons lacked proper share and alignments.

After she spotted these few things, I took it upon myself to read and implement and I must say the tutorials helped. Now I have greatly improved in designs. But my mission is not complete yet, my mission is to teach people how to make great designs.

Not only did I learn how to do the things mentioned above, I learnt how to "Design with Empathy". When I design, I design as if I am the user and this makes my work more easy cause it does not give my users difficulty in know their way round my design.

Now I work on more private projects for individuals and companies.
Here is a design of a notebook app I made and I will also work on the android app version of it.Group (2).png

Thanks for reading about my experience in design. If you find this post inspiring, please upvote, follow, and resteem. Thank you!

Sort:  

Congratulations @mfonobongumondia! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mfonobongumondia! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mfonobongumondia! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mfonobongumondia! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75