The Kitchen Scimitar (A school project from 2013)

in #design7 years ago (edited)

Okay, something else...

When I was in my artisan studies, we were given an assignment to design a kitchen knife.

Well actually it was supposed to be a 2-piece kitchen knife set with matching paring knife and a cook's knife.
My drawings got mixed up and our teacher sent a wrong drawing of the paring knife to the laser cutter, so I couldn't get it fixed and had to settle with only the cook's knife.

Here's an in-school studio shot of the knife I designed:

Kitchen Scimitar
Kitchen Scimitar

It was designed based on the historic scimitar sword from the Middle East.

I wanted to keep as much authenticity I could, at the same time making it practical for use in kitchen, so I lowered the blade to prevent fingers from hitting the table, and also simplified the finger guard, making it way smaller so it doesn't get in the way of preparing food.

The blade is still two sided on both the edge and the false edge (Yalman). That can sometimes be practical when cutting fish and meat.

I managed to keep it fairly balanced, so that it is easy to chop with, although I would almost more prefer rock-chopping because of its curvy edge.

Edit: I almost forgot! I made the handle from hazelwood with birch embeddings, using a CNC machine.

Anyway, I think this covers my Kitchen Scimitar.

Do you have any designs of your own, have you created something you'd like to show us, please tell me and others in the comments below. :)

I'll be back with another post tomorrow!


[Previous post: It's unfair?]



If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

wow that blade is sick!
looks more like for combat then kitchen work
:D

Yea well that's kind of the idea of scimitar in the first place I guess. I wanted to create a really masculine set of kitchen knives so scimitar was kind of the only option. :)

LOL
Is it used as like a meat cleaver? I cant see chopping up vegies with that blade.
:D

Actually a friend of mine (a cook) tried it and said he'd probably use it with veggies most if he had one of these. :-o

LOL
it looks like it should be hacking off whole pig quaters in one swing not dicing some carrots.
:D

It looks great, I do not think anyone mess with you while you cook and have that knife. :D

The most difficult thing I have done is a boken, and I need some help in some parts of its manufacture, for example in the turning of the wood and the correct use of some tools.

WP_20180105_008.jpg

I needed one for my aikido practices and here getting one of good quality is difficult

Cool! I want a bokken like that! :) I used to practice aikido too, Vera and I both. We used to love it, but after Leo and later Miro was born, we ceased to have time for training. I would very much like to start again though.

Yes, I am 7 years old training and I love it

Here you can see me using it :D

juan aikido.jpg

I would very much like to start again though.

If you can, you should do it, train aikido to me changed life before training I lived very stressed and a little bit bitter :P


LOL
now that I think about it I should do a post about Aikido and how it changed my life XD

I haven't design anything as that cool as yours! I would love to have that knife! It looks very practical and useful..The curvy front of the knife looks like what Alaskan tribe people use..So cool...

It looks like a freaking weapon of the serial killer.
Wait, wait what are you going to chop at eh? :d
Take anything you want just spare my life.

I managed to keep it fairly balanced, so that it is easy to chop with.

Too bad you only got the cook's knife and not the full set. Still looks really cool though! Makes me want a real scimitar...

Haha thats looks more like something i would put under my pillow to fight off intruders, than something i will put in my kitchen to slice tomatoes for the salad xD.

Do you have any designs of your own, have you created something you'd like to show us, please tell me and others in the comments below. :)

Because we are talking about things we create, i hope you like this line follower i made back in 2014. I wish i knew about bitcoins prices back then.

that is so cool dude

What a neat little bot. :) Not at all like those chattybots we have here on Steem. :)

more like something i would put under my pillow to fight off intruders

You get many intruders then? ;)

@gamer00 - Sir, better you try Rambo knife, this looks a battle knife... Good for me Sir... if my husband won't help me in kitchen works, I can use it :)

+W+

Great creation ...it s like a dagger.

Well not really... a dagger would be straight and has a very sharp point.

You've got a great knife. Unfortunately, I have nothing to do, I've been doing sports all my youth, but the boys did excellent stools at work classes.

Excellent creation in oriental style. When I was studying, we made crafts from wood, these are different things, houses for birds, not big chairs, and also beautiful wooden toys. Yes, there was time for creativity :) Thanks @gamer00

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67808.66
ETH 3248.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67