You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Designing a Public Signage!

in #design7 years ago

Hey. Pleased to meet you. I found my way here from @sndbox's recent post about incubator membership.

It's an interesting thing sign design. It's something people see and use everyday but no one every really thinks much beyond seeing them as an information service or a utility. But a lot of thought goes into them.

First and foremost they have to be university understood in an instant by everyone of any age. This is a massive challenge and not only takes in design aesthetics but also psychology and sociology. Even just the placement of signs needs to be thought about.

I think you've done really well. I really like the idea of the blue accents in your first set of designs. But I prefer the second set of designs. I think the floating bin in the second set is a bit odd, maybe you could try with having just the top of the bin showing so to give it a bit more of a real world size to it.

I imagine its hard doing the dog poop ones as it's not a nice subject. Do you think injecting a bit of humor into those signs would work? I only say this because whilst i was looking at the second one of the dog pooping I could see him looking out the corner of his eye as if to say "I know i'm not supposed to do this. I'm sorry". Maybe you could add an eye somehow. Also the dog on the leas in the second design could have a little smile as if to say "I'm being good. I'm happy".

These are just little ideas I had whilst checking them out. Hope you don't mind the feedback. I'm not really a designer. I just animate other peoples designs like the little steemit gif above that I made. But I do appreciate a good design.

Thanks for sharing. Look forward to seeing more of your work.

@animate

Sort:  

Hi @animate, thanks for your comment! I am not a connoisseur in graphic design work so I certainly welcome your feedback. Giving some personality to the icons would be actually great. It will not only encourage them for a guided behavior but also will make people smile.

I recently saw your SNDBOX design challenge as well. What a great work and congratulations! Looking forward to see more of your work as well =]

Hi ya. Ah thanks. It was fun to make. I'm not really a graphic designer either. I mainly prefer to animate other peoples designs. But I do like and follow design ideas and trends. And love coming up with different ideas myself.

Yes I think people would tend to engage and remember stuff if its has a friendly and fun personality to it. Keep up the good work.

Cool. speak again soon.
@animate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58100.37
ETH 3135.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24