Describing the “downward spiral“ during depressionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #depression4 years ago

Depression has multiple symptoms that can push you into a (as I call it) downward spiral.

The downward spiral can begin with negative feelings or thoughts. For me it mostly began with thoughts of belittleing myself.

I felt useless and weak, I always wrote when I felt that way, but I wrote about how useless I am and how I couldn’t achieve anything I wanted. I will take an example situation to show you which thoughts and feelings I experienced, but also to which actions that downward spiral led to.

When I was 17, I was in a psychosomatic clinic. During that time I had one specifically horrible night. I was missing my mother that night. I felt lonely, this was the first time being seperated from my mother against my own will.

I thought about my mom, how I missed her. Then I instantly drifted into a bad feeling and the thought that I was a disappointment to my mother.

„I am a disappointment, I couldn’t be strong enough to continue going to school. Now all I can do is go to the main subjects in school, 2 or 3 hours a day and partake in my personal therapy, group therapy, sports and other therapies they assigned me to do. I was always told I am strong, but I’m not strong, I am weak. I can’t even keep it together and attend school. I can’t deal with being alone. I don’t like myself. I used to go outside, sing, write, make up stories, compose songs, meet with friends, now I do nothing. I don’t want to do anything. I am just a burden to my family to worry about. Heck, my dad probably doesn’t even really miss me, he doesn’t contact me on his own except for once in a while. He only writes more often if I tell him to or cry to him about feeling lonely on social media in the messenger…. I am probably just annoying…. Why am I even around? I should go somewhere and break off contact to my family and friends, so I can’t be a burden anymore“

The feelings I went through were loneliness, self discomfort, self disappointment, self doubt, self hate and in the end, feeling empty, not feeling anything. I write feeling empty, but that is difficult to describe, I did not feel any love, hate, sadness, or happiness but my body and heart felt very heavy.

The actions that followed, was me staying up all night, sleeping in the morning, not caring about having to go to school. I got sleeping pills to help me sleep at night, I refused to take them. I slept through my therapies as well. I stopped doing anything… I even skipped the meals… It took 1 whole day until the next morning for my therapist to come to check up on me and ask what was going on.

This is one of many countless downward spirals I have experienced. I purposely did not choose one of the more extreme spirals, because I do not want to risk someone thinking of suicide reading an emotional spiral leading to extreme bad feelings. I have been through such and I don’t want you to think I do not know about them nor understand them, but I do not want to dig up emotions like that by reading the process of the downward spiral.

I have always experienced downward spirals as one huge wave after another, you have the big impact, then some crying or even crying the whole time. Then you have a short moment of crying after the big impact of feelings and thoughts, then the next huge wave comes with worse feelings and thoughts. The thoughts and emotions feed each other and the spiral goes further down. Some people also describe it as falling into a deep dark hole with no end in sight and nothing to hold on to.

These downward spirals can be experienced in all kinds of situations in life. Sometimes a downward spiral is the beginning of a depression, sometimes it occurs sporadically during a depression.

Downward spirals have a huge impact on our lives, we mostly feel demotivated, helpless, useless, weak and depending on what the thoughts are that we experience, we can also sometimes end up in self hate. Most of all, these downward spirals pull us into our own realm.

downward spiral.jpg

My “realm“ is easy to describe in a picture. I felt like I only existed in my mind. My mind was pitchblack, mostly I had my eyes open spacing, but I did not look through my eyes. I only saw the black in my mind, sitting alone with all my thoughts and emotions. I often found myself falling into darkness, noone around, nothing to hold on to and no where out.

The most dangerous stage of experiencing such a “fall“ or downward spiral, is when you reach the point when you just accept it and stop fighting. You give in to negativity, self belittling, darkness and loneliness. After a while you feel nothing, the negative thoughts continue, but you feel absolutely nothing, you have surrendered to this darkness and become “empty“

Since I do not want to leave you with only understanding this process and how dangerous it is, please check out my post with methods to break this cycle (https://steemit.com/depression/@rashia/methods-to-stop-the-cycle-of-sorrow-depression).

With this post I want to show people who have heard about “falling into a pit“ or a “downward spiral“, but could not understand it, what it means to suffer from this happening. I also want to help people who have experienced, it feel understood and understand that they are not alone! I also wish to help people who are dealing with these situations find solutions for themselves.

Please, I know I write this often but not many take this opportunity, I encourage anyone to comment below. Let me know if this post helped you understand this aspect of depression better, tell me if you have questions and let me know if this post helped you feel more understood and less alone.

Thank you for reading.
I wish everyone a wonderful bright day 😊

Sort:  

Hi, @rashia,
Your post has been voted on by cryptokannon on behalf of the @steemingcurators team.
Thank you for your contribution to the Steem Community.

@Knitrias will come in a moment, to comment on the entry for this week in your series!! Great work @Rashia!! Also, she says that is not number ten!! ;)

@tipu curate !trdo

Hmmm, okay. I have some othet guesses.

Btw you two, I have been working on the new diary post since yesterday. I will post it either today or tomorrow. I'll have to see how far I get today.

We finished the work, a good rest and here we are!! We are going to the diary right now!! :)
I wanted to ask you if you know something about trichotillomania. Thanks for this great project and your awesome work!!

No, I didn't know anything about it. I just read about it now...wow... that's harsh to deal with....

Thank you so much 🤗

Congratulations @leveuf, you successfuly trended the post shared by @rashia!
@rashia will receive 0.05245763 TRDO & @leveuf will get 0.03497175 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Dear @Rashia! How important is the work you are doing in here, I'm sure for you is a great tool to further improve your own experience and work with this issues but for many of us for whom everyday life sometimes difficult to take a moment to think about ourselves and detach from the world created by our ego. We have all the necessary to change and you are helping us to find out how. Thank you very much for share your knowledge and discoveries on life!!

I helped poor @Leveuf,he finished the work and then fell asleep!! :) But we are here now with a big hug!!

Send the best winds for every project and the day by day of you and yours!!

I know how it feels @knitrias, I used to go to school and work while dealing with depression. It is extremely hard to take care of ourselves being completely taken in by the daily struggles and distractions.

I am happy I freed myself from depression and I know the frustration and sirrow of thinking there is no way out and it can never get better.

That is why I am doing this. I need to show others there is a way out, you can be free from depression. I need to show society that people with depression are not pitiful but instead admirable for their fight they put up and holding on. I need to help raise awareness of the severity of depression.

Depressed people are immensly influenced by their surroundings and especially the people they have contact with. That is why I want people who do not have depression to understand people with depression. They need to know their influence and take it seriously.

Excuse me for the late responses, as you know sometimes this day by day and its occupations take some time!! :)

I'm really happy that you are finding the ways of your creativity and expression through this blog. These experiences and findings will remain here for you to revisit and for others to work in the solutions to solve their own situations.

Best wishes for what's to come, dear @Rashia!!
Only the Good for you!!

Thank you so much! (I need to copy this sentence somewhere lol). I hope that it will remain and help others in the future. lf I can only help 1 person with depression or help 1 person understand depression then it was already worth the effort!

I only wish the best for you 🤗

You will with more than 1, I'm sure! :)
Send you more hugs and good vibes, dear @Rashia!!

Long time ago I wrote a suitable poem in German on this topic. I will rewrite it tomorrow for you and hope that it will also convey in English what it originally conveyed in German. I know that you also understand German, but it is also a challenge for me :-).

Cool! Thank you so much 😊😊

Honestly, I think you are a bit too worried about not conveying your messages in your poems. Okay, I might also be misinterpreting, but I think it's quite easy pto understand what you want to convey.

I am looking forward to the poem! Thank you and thank you for following me 😁

Congratulations @rashia, your post successfully recieved 0.05245763 TRDO from below listed TRENDO callers:

@leveuf earned : 0.03497175 TRDO curation


To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 59515.78
ETH 2505.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47