My coping strategies for depression and has Steemit helped me? - Honest(!!!) response to @rihchie.ebb

in #depression7 years ago

Yesterday I stumbled across a blog by @rihchie.ebb  which detailed his struggles with depression. I replied by telling him how I identified with his struggle. He then asked me the question below. On Steemit I have noticed a certain encouraging openness about the topic of depression, which pervades our modern society. 

"In what ways did it help you? I would enjoy hearing more success stories and how you cope with things!" 

https://steemit.com/steemit/@rihchie.ebb/thank-you-steemit-and-the-community#@rihchie.ebb/re-onetree-re-rihchieebb-thank-you-steemit-and-the-community-20170616t142424880z


In what ways did it help you? (regarding Steemit)

There are multiple ways Steemit has helped me generally...feel better. And a few ways where it has contributed to depressive feelings. I believe a major factor in depression is boredom. Our lives are limited by the constraints of making a living. The issue is exacerbated by the plethora of Don't Settle! Follow Your Dreams! Do What You Like And You Will Never Have To Work A Day In Your Life, etc ad nauseum. In fact all that makes ME nauseous! Yeah right...choices litter our paths like little golden nuggets sprinkled with rainbows. Happy life everyone.

I find relief from the daily grind of life in new things. Some new things are little, like a computer/phone game that absorbs you for days or weeks until you are bored, other stuff becomes part of your life. I distracted myself from a car accident by starting to sell online, which then ended up being a major part of my business. Steemit most certainly qualifies as something new!


I enjoy the interaction with others on Steemit and I like reading about a wide variety of subjects, especially now that Steemit has had a huge influx of new members. It is comforting to know people around the world experience the same hopes, thoughts, fears and wishes. Blogging for me can be fun, I like my Auction Finds series, and I enjoy sharing the interesting articles I find. But, for me, the greatest benefit of blogging, is how it helps when I am experiencing complex emotions I find difficult to express, or even sort out in my head. The methodical act of writing functions as a catharsis for me. https://steemit.com/racism/@onetree/the-unhappy-reality-of-racism-in-south-africa was a recent example of how I use writing to deal with complex emotions.

A definite positive for me, is the amount of like-minded people on Steemit, who wish to change the world. Sounds trite, or worse impossible, but the many acts of kindness I have witnessed on Steemit touched me deeply. Our consumer/status driven society is a massive contributor to the feelings of sadness we experience. I believe this constant striving for more stuff is in direct opposition with our soul's true desire to grow more spiritual.


Ironically, the income from Steemit has helped me tremendously. And I don't earn a lot. A lot of my depression is due to feeling trapped in an impossible financial situation and Steemit has provided some hope in that area. This has been a double-edged sword though. I feel happier when the price is higher, when it plummets, worries start to creep in. I sometimes feel jealous of those who are constantly on the trending page, as I know just a couple of trending articles will propel me to a new, happier level financially. It is disheartening to see the same names on the trending page daily, especially when you know you have spent hours on an article. But hey, society is not fair, and whose to say my articles are any good, or even comparable to others. I have seen others with the same complaint and have thought, the complaint is valid, but perhaps the complainers articles are simply not good enough? This could equally apply to me. I have made a point of it not to complain about my earnings, because I am earning, which has provided a brand new stream of income. BUT not complaining is NOT synonymous with NOT feeling! (Sad and jealous.) 

Success Story?

Am I a success story? I think so, even though I would be characterised as slow and steady instead of burning bright and bold. I've made money and paid a few debts which has provided breathing space. I have introduced quite a few others to Steemit, especially in my own family, which has improved their financial situation. I am happy with my followers and reputation, which are solid. I've incorporated Steemit into my daily life and I take more notice of what is going on in the world around me, in order to be able to share it. I contemplate more, which can only be positive. A life un-examined...and all that jazz!

How do I cope (with depression)?

I eat, take pills and drink wine! Not even joking. There are so many coping strategies for pervasive depression I find it detrimental to judge anything as an unhealthy way of coping. This immediately exacerbates the bad feelings. For instance my brother stopped smoking for a long time. Recently he took up smoking a few cigarettes in the evening again. Most people he knew reacted with shock and condemnation to this news. Yeah, that really works. It's your life, do what gets you through the day. Now, eating, pill popping and wine guzzling only play a small part in my coping strategies with regard to depression. The point I want to make is this, don't judge yourself or others.


The most positive influence on my life was starting yoga a few years ago. There is nothing comparable when it comes to calming my mind. I have tried other forms of exercise, but they don't have the same effect as my yoga practice does. I'm not particularly fit, young or thin. Yoga is not the instagram goddess thing, I most often look like a puffing, red in the face, ungainly something! Many of the poses squish my fat, and hey, it's fine with me. It helps.


And by far the most valuable lesson yoga has taught me is that of non-attachment.When we can truly let go of our expectations of how life, people, relationships should be, and live more in the moment, much of our stress can be greatly diminished. Further reading on this principle is highly recommended! For instance, it alleviates my feelings of jealously and inferiority not to expect my posts to perform in a certain way. It is very hard work to practice this though.


When I am completely overwhelmed I turn off all electronics, tv, phone, and computer, and climb into the bath, or bed with a novel. Yesterday I was extremely upset as I mistakenly transferred ALL my SBD to @randowhale as I was distracted when making the transaction. (I didn't get it back.) I just switched everything off and glugged wine in the bath. The only problem is now I can't wait to get home from work to complete the book I started...!!!


Pets can also help with stress and depression. Except when they die, like my little half blind feral cat Snuffles. Again, a double-edged sword. (It has been about a month since he died and I am still unbelievably sad. But when he was alive, he made me really happy.)


Lastly, if all else fails I have fantasies about the end of the world. I imagine a comet obliterating us as I sleep. I imagine total societal collapse which obviously will be so much more stressful, but I don't let that fact ruin my fantasies, okay!

Do whatever it takes to tide you over the minute, the hour, the day, the week. As impossible as it feels in the moment, we do eventually feel better, even if it is in random moments. Treasure those moments.

Namaste. Thank you for reading! Please follow me @onetree

images: pixabay

Sort:  

I had also noticed that Steem is "different", but I could never really explain why. What do you say makes "hanhing" out in Steem diferent than bring in Facebook?

Thank you for your post, it was very interesting!

Another good question!!! I think people who joined Steemit had to be able to at least try something new instead of hanging out in their comfort zones.

Those are some good coping ideas. I like to imagine an apocalypse myself, usually zombie related.
Yoga and meditation help me along with coffee, Cheezits and cats. Thanks for your post, I found it soothing.

Thank you, you pretty much have the same coping skills as me!

A really interesting account that resonates with me. Thanks for your vote on one of my posts today. Upvoting and following you 🦋

Thank you so much!!!

Excelent post for those who need it but steemit is just a place I find do bring out of you that you had forgotten was there, I really love it and no one critizes you if they dont like your post they just skip it. That is what Iike so much.

That is an amazing point!!!!! Steemit brings out what you forgot you were! And it's because it is an accepting space.

Couldn't agree more on yoga, @onetree. It's helped me in so many ways, focus, calmness, a better back and even better digestion. Would recommend anyone who's not tried it to give it a go at least.

And my daughter has just become a yoga teacher!!! Happy days for me.

OMG I love you! I did exactly the same thing with the transfering. I also suffer with Clinical Depression and Anxiaty and some day's are better than other's. This has been a long process and also accepting. I am just about to move to rural Shropshire which all of my family have snubbed me for. It is truly the best thing I could ever ask for, stunningly beautiful. I will be able to walk for miles and be at one with nature better intuned for our real purpose.
Thank you so much, it is so lovely to be able to talk to someone who actually understands what a nightmare it can be. I really feel the good is here for me now after a very long path. I am also learning and stubbling a bit with the technology side, blooming phone!!! I get upset and feel stupid when I make a major boo boo frustrating to say the least. Some days I can spell and get things right and some days I can't, it's crazy how your streem of thought can vanish at times. I have followed you and would love to become friends.🕉

I followed you back and look forward to being friends. We are so very hard on ourselves when we make mistakes, we have to start conciously letting that tendency go!

Yes I know, I am making steps forward. Once I move I will be blogging on sustainable living, wild eats, getting fit, that will be funny after being a smoker for some year's. I will be the wheezy old hag running up a hill but the views will be great!

That makes the fitness all the sweeter! I will look forward to your blogs.

Oh god, I think I have done it wrong again. I blooming lost 5.016 sbd the other day. I have just followed the instructions which I found the other day but it has gone from mine. I can't see it any where now.😂 This amount was for $4.259. I needed it to move grrrrrrr!

If you sent the money incorrectly to @blocktrades email them at their support email and peovide details of the incorrect memo and they should return your money. They have helped me when I made a mistake in the past.

Thanks for that email sent to them finger's crossed.🕉

Good luck!!! Let me know what happens.

Thank you for the response. Good post and definitely agree on the fact that boredom contributes to the depression.

Im new here at steemit .
Follow me and ill follow you back.
I hope you help me out :)

Good day :)

I have battled depression my entire life but in the year I've been with Steemit, I must admit that I haven't been debilitated by it! I cope by being open, helping others, and just using this place as a creative outlet. Steemit has also helped me get out of a couple of binds and paid for a few necessary things. It has helped me immensely and I will always love Steemit for the community and support.

I understand 100%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62974.52
ETH 2679.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55