My View on Depression

in #depression8 years ago

I'm not an apologist when it comes to depression, people like to put themselves in the position of victim, placing the responsibility of how they feel internally on something external; someone else, some misfortune or life itself. Do not get me wrong, it's natural to have ups and downs, more or less productive phases and, indeed, sometimes shit happens and you find yourself on the floor, knocked out.

But depression is not a disease as fake doctors say, that you, by chance, was born with a chemical imbalance in the brain and, unluckily, has poor levels of dopamine in the nervous system. No. Usually the first thing you discover when talking with someone that has declared himself as a ''victim of depression'' is the tragic state of his diet: lots of red meat, processed foods loaded with sodium and refined sugar. No green fresh vegetables, no fruits... Of course you're depressed, dumbass!

Then the poor soul , not wanting to change his lifestyle, prefers to take the famous ''happy pills''(or for those who're already aware: ''the demon drugs''). They want to escape their own emotions... Good luck!

Let me tell you something, your emotions are there for some reason, they are your moral compass, you should listen to them and understand them. Sometimes you NEED to feel bad, sometimes remorse is necessary. Pain is good, it teaches you things. To cut off contact with your own emotions is the equivalent of turning yourself into a zombie, and that's what they want.

To close, I would like to make it clear why more and more people are becoming depressed in this world. The reason is because you live in a PRISON! And it's getting more and more obvious and more unbearable every day, following normal life in a decadent and superficial society. WE build it, and now we have to accept that there is no future in that way, we must review our most basic principles and welcome change. Drastic changes.

Deal with your shadows, they are trying to tell you something... that something is wrong.

Sort:  

It sounds like you do not have a clue as to what you are talking about. Depression is a complex topic. It is not just feeling bad or sad, or anything like that. It is living at the bottom of a pit with no way out.

As to your observations on diet... So, do you have any evidence linking the diet that you quote to depression? for me personally, I actually find it a lot easier to stay positive when I eat plenty of red meat.

SSRIs have their place. They are not for everyone, and are often overprescribed. However, they do work for some people, and not for others.

Yeah, there is plenty of evidence, you can research it yourself.

I have actually done a lot of research on depression, and while I have found some links between refined sugars (carbohydrates in general) and depression, I have also encountered claims about the other dietary factors you mention, but no research to back it.

Depression is something I suffered with for many years. I finally found something that gave me permanent relief. I traveled to the Amazon jungle and used ayahuasca to clear that stuff out of my head. I can't even begin to describe what a difference it made. Here's a link to my story if anyone wants to read it:

http://reset.me/personal-story/personal-story-treating-depression-and-anxiety-with-ayahuasca-and-huachuma/

Interesting! Ayahuasca and some other natural plants really have a sacred importance for human consciousness. Last year I took Ayahuasca too and I can really say that it helped me to face myself more sincerely.

Any depression should be met with a smile. Depression will think you're an idiot, and run away.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57156.19
ETH 2431.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41