There is no need to feel guilty about doing what you want

in #deepshit6 years ago (edited)

It seems rather intuitive that we must have some level of freedom when we speak about it so much in our culture and in our politics. Obviously, there are certain restrictions that are imposed upon our freedom, some arguably for the better while others not so much. Whether we agree with all the rules that are imposed on us or not, freedom fundamentally starts with our own relationship with ourselves.

8CE81946-EC40-43AD-AE8D-8174CD4A769C.jpeg
Taking a break from poorly photographed pineapples and strange artwork to give you some cheesy pexels photos,

Whether we have freedom or not will depend on a large degree on whether or not we listen to our bodies and our inner guidance. When you are tired do you sleep? When you are hungry do you eat? When you have to take a shit but you are late for work what do you do? When you are stressed and want to drop what you are doing, do you say “screw this, I bit off more than I could chew with this project” or do you say “I need to suck it up”. When your partner demands more than you are willing to give do try to convince them that you will change when you really don’t want to prevent them from leaving, or do you insist on who you are? When a friend pressures you to do something you really don’t want to do, do you do it?

True freedom comes from being able to follow our desires and always prioritize our own happiness, not because we don’t care about others, but because we will be able to do much more for others when we are fulfilling our own desires. It is respectful of all individuals, but none at the expense of others. That means it will allow you to respect others without sacrificing respect for yourself.

This is not to say that compromise is a bad thing, compromise is a necessary part of building relationships and forging trust in order to create a harmonious environment. Sometimes others dissatisfaction with our behavior can also teach us a great deal about how to interact more peacefully. Our relationships will reflect our ability to balance our desires with the desires of others and to find ways in which they don’t conflict. They don’t have to conflict. Compromise can help us to grow together, but it’s important to choose well what we are willing to compromise and to come to the compromise willingly. It’s foolish to try to compromise something that we are really resentful about compromising.

Freedom doesn’t mean doing whatever you want “whenever the hell you want”, but it does mean doing whatever you want whenever you REALLY want. It’s essential to make this distinction. Do you REALLY want it? Does your desire to speak or act come from what you really want in life, from the version of yourself that you most want to be, from your most ideal vision and not dependent on outside circumstances? Or is it fear of things not going as you desire that leads you to speak and act as you do? Are you running towards what you do want or running away from what you don’t want? This is extremely important. The ego’s version of freedom will often be imposing on others and be fear based, often unwittingly, while your the deep desires of your truest self will never be so abrasive and never directly impose on others.

Sort:  

Thanks for this...it's great to remind yourself to trust your truest self and let go of any fear of what others might say or do if you act a certain way. I need to work on this for sure...but little by little I hope to get there. Loving your posts. xx

You will get there!

These are truthful words and stand with you on them.

True freedom comes from being able to follow our desires and always prioritize our own happiness, not because we don’t care about others, but because we will be able to do much more for others when we are fulfilling our own desires

Very true, if we are not happy, I don't think there is any possibility of giving out what we don't have. You only can give out what you have and more so when it is in abundance.

Freedom doesn’t mean doing whatever you want “whenever the hell you want”, but it does mean doing whatever you want whenever you REALLY want.

Emphasis on REALLY, If that freedom is not needed at a particular point in time then don't express it.

it took me a long time to really figure this one out but I did...I didn’t even realize I wasn’t prioritizing my happiness, meanwhile I put myself in so many positions I didn’t wan to be in.

So good you were to recognize it.

Very much agree brodinski
I've been learning about this this week

We seem to learn these lessons simultaneously with other friends and people on similar paths :-)

They're vital lessons if we're going to actually make it to the higher levels of awareness, individually and globally speaking.

We're very much in an evolutionary time and place
Nice to know we're experiencing these synchronicities :)

Most of the time, we mixed the freedom with other irrevallent matters. I like the saying...
Freedom doesn’t mean doing whatever you want “whenever the hell you want”, but it does mean doing whatever you want whenever you REALLY want.

Yeah like self righteousness or the desire to be right about something or jealousy...good point!

You are so right on everything you said! I definitely needed to hear this at this very moment! Thanx so much! Lots of love to you!

Thanks I’m glad to be of help :-)

If I follow and do today what I REALLY want to do, I wouldn't go back to work for the next two+ years of my life. But I have kids and child support, so you know, I don't get to do that. But that is what I NEED for ME and everything that that encompasses. I could call in sick today, but my boss trusts us to be grown ups and he's a pretty freakin' awesome boss -- so you know, #respect. (sigh). I revel in the day I'll be able to go after what I really want in life.

There is no need to push yourself to go outside the reach of what you can imagine for yourself, but you can start by Imanaging more possibilities and Moreno ways of enjoying what you have in front of you, there is always something to enjoy and if your boss is awesome even moreso!

It really turned around for me when I stopped thinking of myself as being “stuck” and thought of it more as an incubation period which would last as long as it had to in order to turn me into who I needed to be to reach what I was aiming for.

Do you REALLY want it? Does your desire to speak or act come from what you really want in life, from the version of yourself that you most want to be, from your most ideal vision and not dependent on outside circumstances?

What I have come to understand is that freedom is gained by being able to say no to your desires and even push them aside and then a sense of self is revealed: the happy, content and personally realized self. Desires and fears keep this self hidden.

Great blog, WAID:)

I don’t see desires as a negative thing, but there are desires that come from the ego and desires that come from a deeper place. Those that come from that deeper place aren’t light and we do not require them to be happy. There is a difference between “life sucks, I’m fat.” And “it’d be really cool to lose weight, if I can’t it’s all good, more to love”. The latter is the kind of desire I’m talking about. :-)

I think desires are essential for new creation but they can lead one to suffer if they take over the operating system ... so to speak.

I do agree with you. It is your life and you should be responsible for it. Do not feel guilty of what other people think because at the end of the day they will never care.

I just LOVE this - I think you wrote it for me here in Thailand right at this moment. haha.... I NEEDED to read this now. Gratitude! :)

Loving the #deepshit tag :) :) :)

Haha glad I could be of help, stay out of trouble! Haha

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97