Q3 2018: Nut Up or Shut Up

I just deleted my farcebook account. I'm all in on this blockchain thing. It was a necessary move.

It had become a crutch.

The straw that broke the addict's habit?

CENSORSHIP

I spent money on Facebook. I had my business page there and paid for advertising there.

I had a relatively vast human network there. People that provided value to me, and that I like to think got value from me.

And I just left that behind to make my life better.

I was trying to share a link with my friends to a podcast episode from a podcast called Mises Weekends. Here it is now, uncensored. It's a short podcast about decentralization. Progress. And how that can be used by the American "left" and "right." Primarily the left though. An interesting notion from an Austrian economic publication, wouldn't you say? Go listen to it, I guarantee you'll benefit from it.

Screenshot_20180627-001113.png

The straw that broke the addict's habit

I talked about often about deleting my account. Many of my friends scoffed every time I griped on farcebook about farcebook. We all got a chuckle from the irony. I decided it was time to nut up or shut up.

It's time to act.


What am I going to do?
I make good money. In the 80th percentile in America. Why the fuck don't I have any money?

It's time to hone back in. Time for me to focus. Q1 2018 was a time of great progress. Q2 has been a time of starting projects and losing focus. Q3 is time to nut up or shut up. I'm slacking on improving the quality of life my family enjoys. Progress has stalled. We've not regressed, except in the sense that if you're not moving forward, you're moving backwards.

I have so many ideas and projects that I've neglected or not developed. All my ideas are great. They're practical, applicable, and relevant to my goals of increasing our quality of life. It's time to get back in that zone. That area of hyper focus.

How does it help to leave farcebook?

That place is a distraction. Seeing the same posts from the same companies all the time. Recycling the ads for things that are useless. The petty needs for attention. The bickering with people you love over trivial shit. The obvious breaches of personal privacy.

It's all meant to undermine personal development and social progress. I'm tired of bitching about it. Now I don't need to anymore. I'm done.

Being here, I have an accountability system. If I stray from the path, I have this record and you people to guide me back. That's what I see here. That's what I've come to expect here.

As I lead my family to a better quality of life, I can document it here. I can share my progress and even be rewarded a bit. Any upvote is better than a "love react."

I'm glad they pushed that last button. I'm glad to become more committed to progress. I'm glad to be here on steem, and to be all in on steem.

I want anyone reading this to follow and engage. I'll try like hell to engage back and encourage and push you to great progress as well. That's why I'm here. To be relevant. To stay relevant. To increase in relevance in ways that will make life better. Because we're supposed to be the change we want to see in the world, right? Decentralize progress. Everyone make progress on an individual level, and everyone will progress together.

Let's do this.

Stay relevant.

Nate

Sort:  

Oh buddy! If i could love button this i would! Lol
Im so close to being able to do the same! About two weeks. Everytime i go on there it's like: "ugh, why did i do that?"
Congrats on the breakup!!

Hell yes! I'm glad to be rid of it. Now I need to start doing something about it all. That'll be the hard part :)

How do you mean do something about it? Like with your free time? Or increased brain cells?

Yes.
And yes.

And a bit more motivation. Maybe I'll get out in the shop and clean up and build something. Maybe I'll go drive around and scavenge lumber from a neighbor that replaced their fence. Maybe I'll work out a new financial plan with the wife. :)

Idk man. Maybe I'm crazy, but I feel like a million bucks right now.

Sounds like the potential is endless! Haha i havent logged the time wasted on fb over the years. I find over the past few years i've been very inactive, getting an email once a week telling me how many weeks its been since i told people how i was feeling or what i was eating for breakfast..
Has it freed up that much time for ya? Impacted your interaction with legit people- especially family?

Well, on break a couple hours ago I went to click on my FB app. My fingers still go there, but then my brain says "whoops it's not there."

So I drew up plans and looked up costs for two big projects I've been bouncing around in my head for months.

The toy shed/water tote stand will only be around $150, and the base level of the playground will be around $350. Parts lists are made and cataloged, and I've submitted plans to the minister of finance. That's the wife.

I need to start using that time to come up with a way to finance the damn things lol

And yesterday morning, we planted watermelons. They should be ready in September! 😂😂😂😂

Spent a bit of time last night thining the heard of 'friends' i had on the facebox.
Felt real good- getting closer to shutting it down for good. Did you follow any particular process to take yourself off?
Also, saw your message about pine needles, i think THINK you need something other than just those needles. I wonder if you could use them as an agent for the bookashi bacteria, rather than bran or sawdust? If so, that could really be something!

The first time I deleted it I was methodical. Unfollowing pages, unfriending people, leaving groups. I wanted to see if the platform was any better after decluttering it a bit. That didn't make it much better for me.

This time, I just cut it. Told the trollbox, and cut the cord. It was hasty. There's a few friends that I wish I had given my number to, but I'm not going back to Facebook.

Bokashi! I still never looked into it. If that's what happens, it'll be the biggest compost pile ever. Which will be awesome. I'm finding out how dry and Sandy this soil is here. It could use some life in it besides the moles.

Good on you. I am not quite ready to do that yet. First love you know. Difficult to give up. But I am spending lesser and lesser time on Facebook, that's for sure. Cheers!

Definitely not an easy choice. But it got to the point where the benefit of being there just wasn't enough.

I see. All the best to you on Steemit. Cheers!

Congratulations @nateonsteemit! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Haven't used fb in quite a while now. Probably never use it. I need 1 distraction and steemit is for now.

I can't get rid of it, its where my wholesaler for silver unloads silver at or underspot!!! But that is the only thing I do on there

Man, that's a badass gig!

Today I'm using the saved time to learn and work on my miner. But cheaper silver? Not much better than that!

It's less of a gig and more of a dealer/addict relationship.

"Gig" is code for dealer/addict relationship ;)

for real though, if I had had that kind of hookup on there, I would have thought a little harder about leaving. What's that saving you, a couple bucks an ounce?

Lol, had no idea.

It's saves me $1-$1.50 an once if the order is pretty big. Have to offset the $3-$7 shipping. No free shipping for order over $100 like the big online guys 😜 but better than local unless you want to cherry pick older/vintage/unique stuff

Very nice. Instant profitability, if you ask me. I need to find me a good LCS. wonder if there is one in my little town of 6k folks.

Gold stores are usually higher than regular coin stores, right? Or are the one in the same nowadays?

I saw someone in that group say you left and I was confused. I totally get it though. Sadly as much as the overall use of Facebook has been decreased drastically since I popped on here, I cannot. I use it for business still and to keep in touch with friends around the world. I hope one day to be able to make the purge as well. Funny though, I rarely actually post there anymore.

Yeah, my content creation and discussions moved almost completely over here. I would share a few memes on fb, but for anything productive it was a total waste of time.

Gotcha. Yeah I’m absolutely using it less and less. Pretty crazy the time I used to spend on there. 98% of that has shifted here.

Yaaaas! I love that!

It's gonna be cool transforming from primarily a blog atmosphere to a social media atmosphere here.

Do you have any shares in @steembasicincome yet?

Yeah I have a bunch. Sponsored some folks and received some sponsorships. Won a few as well in contests. Why...wanna sponsor each other for a few?

At some point that would be awesome! I love cosponsorships!

Well I just signed ya up for a share, brother. 1 tasty share of @steembasicincome! lol

no need to reciprocate!!!

Badass! It'll be reciprocated for sure. I just need to get a little more saved up. Had a whole weeks where I didn't post at all, so steem things are slow. It also seems like there's less and in post earnings lately.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62267.50
ETH 2992.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71