DECENT account creation and mining guide

in #decent7 years ago (edited)

Those DECENT GO accounts are confusing and impersonal. It would be best to create a new account with your preferred username. So, let's get started!

I'm assuming you've got decentd running and cli_wallet set up, on a server that's available 24x7. Unlike PoW mining, dropping in and out isn't an option. Your node must be running 24x7x365.

First, import your DECENT GO account if you haven't already. Make sure it has at least 0.005 DCT as that is the registration fee. Your account ID is the encrypted id in DECENT GO, your private key is the key beginning with 5 that's generated while generating your recovery phrase.

import_key userid private-key

Generate keys before you register your account.

suggest_brain_key

Do this twice, and securely save two sets of both public key and private key. The key beginning with DCT is the public key, the key beginning with 5 is the private key.

Create a new account for mining, select a username of your choice.

register_account new_account_name public-key-owner public-key-active DGOencrypted_username true

Note that the DECENT wiki page has a typo. The new_account_name is what you want your new username to be, the DGOencrypted_username is the account you're registering from. Use the two public keys starting with DCT that you previously generated. The first one is the owner key, the second is the active key. Remember to save the corresponding private keys!

Your new account is now ready! Use the import_key function again on your mining server/VPS to add your mining account. Make sure it has at least 0.5 DCT. If not, transfer from your DECENT GO account.

Next step, create a miner object for your account.

create_miner username "proposal URL" true

If you don't have a miner proposal, leave it "".

At this point, your miner is ready, and you can verify this by -

get_miner username

I'd recommend one more step to set up your signing key. Use suggest_brain_key again to generate another pair of public (DCT) and private (5) key. Then use this command to sign with your newly generated signing key -

update_miner username "proposal-URL" public-signing-key true

Finally, set up your miner. Open up config.ini in the .decent data folder. Find miner-id, add in the 1.4.x "id" returned by get_miner username. Then, under it, add the pair of public-signing-key and private-signing-key as generated in the previous step.

Run ./decentd (no switches required) and you're now mining!

One last thing, you need votes as a miner. Get them / cast them using

vote_for_miner yourusername minersusername true true

For example, if you wish to vote for me, vote_for_miner yourusername liberosist true true Hint hint :)

On a serious note, please see my miner proposal here before voting for me. Hope you found this guide helpful, please feel free point out any errors.

Sort:  

I need help...I am a noob
Screen Shot 2017-05-30 at 12.41.00 PM.png

btw, I just noticed that you were a witness. I voted for you.

I'm not a witness, but you could vote for @curie :)

😅 miner proposal... Woops. Guess I should read you link.🌚 I will vote for @curie.

And DECENT, not Steem :)

Got it. I need to sign up for a decent account.

Side note: is there a way to find your posts when they don't show up in the feed? I know they "save draft" but I posted my adventure in flying this morning and it disappeared.☝🏼👀 I ended up having to rewrite the whole post. Takes me about 45 minutes to clean up my post before I make it live so that was a little frustrating. Any ideas how I can avoid the disappearing post?

Don't write them on Steemit.com. Write them in a markdown app, maybe, or even notepad or Word first. I use an app called Appy Text (in Windows 10 Store).

Great idea. I will try word.

i created my miner "animus" and i voted you

This is for interested concerned parties but thanks for this useful info @liberosist

Interesting! good luck @liberosist :D

Hi @liberosist this isn't to do with this post, I just wanted to get in contact to say thank you. I've been looking at SteeM.V.P and it says you are one of my top voters. I spend a lot of time on my videos (5 hours of editing my last one) so it really makes it worthwhile when people like you find them and upvote. So thanks again.

Arthur

Arthur

Congratulations @liberosist! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

nice work go for voted at you for witness, sir ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62857.40
ETH 3441.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51