You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Death’s Rocket

in #death7 years ago

I remember when my great grandmother died. I was 4 years old and I didn't quite understand what happened, only thing I knew was that she ''left''. A couple of years later my grandfather became sick with cancer. I always thought that one day he would get well, like it was a cold or something. Eventually one day my cousin took me from school and when we went home I saw my mother crying. I asked her what's happening and then I instantly remembered my great grandmother. It was the moment I understood death, what it was. I asked her ''Is he gone?'' and she noded yes. I felt the real loss of death there. I understood the finallity of this thing in this plane.

As the years passed I really tried to understand death and the consequences. My belief is that we die, on a certain physical/biological context, but on another we transform. I don't know the nature of this transformation, whether it is energy that turns into some other form or something else but I believe in what we call the soul and it's eternal nature. Even if we are simply energy ( personally I believe in something even greater ), this is compatible with the law of conversation of energy, energy doesn't persih, it just transforms.

Awesome post, I really liked the rocket analogy!
Resteemed!

Sort:  

Thanks for the resteem. I had a similar experience when I was four. I don’t know if that led to the sensations I had later, or when these sensations began, but I can remember really feeling paralyzed when thinking about death. It was sort of like being consumed by a vaccuum, an empty space. And I would have these vivid images of bones in dirt come to mind. I suppose they were hallucinations of some kind. I really don’t know, but they definitely bothered me and made me uncomfortable.

Anyway, I’m hoping to avoid that moment of shock with my children. Everyone probably realizes what death is in their own way and at different times, just like your final realization, so despite my efforts, my children might have a reaction like I did anyway. Who knows?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71