Steemit Gaming Contest: ODST Endure Challenge

in #deadspacecontest7 years ago

image.png

@Deadspace is currently running a challenge to talk about an unforgettable memory you have had while playing a game! On a wild assumption I think @Deadspace may have had experience with the same challenge I am about to describe.

For those of you that are not familiar, a new mode was released with the release of Halo 3 ODST called Firefight. It is basically a wave based mode similar to Gears of War's horde where you have to face a continuous onslaught of enemies. The game featured some achievements called "Vidmaster challenges" that were used to obtain the coveted Recon armor in Halo 3 multiplayer. Some of them were quite easy...while some were quite difficult. The one that was the most difficult for EVERY person to achieve was the "Endure challenge". For those that haven't attempted it I will try to put it in perspective.

The description of the Endure challenge is to survive 4 sets of Firefight on heroic difficulty (2nd hardest setting) with 4 players. A single set on firefight is comprised of three rounds. Each round consists of five waves. Each set gets progressively harder so it becomes more and more difficult to survive. I feel it necessary to also say that simply successfully completing this challenge means that your firefight game lasted 3-4 hours. It is also quite imaginable to see where I'm going with this...

I was in early high school or late middle school when this challenge came out...I know I'm young. My friends and I got our squad of 4 to tackle this thing. I don't think my friends and I would have the time or organization to pull something off like this today, but more power to our younger schedules.

What really makes this all unforgettable for me is the sheer amount of time and stress it put on us. I should also preface this with the fact that we played a TON of Halo before even getting into trying this challenge so we already had the time to be experts at the game. We knew which map would be easiest and we had our strategy all completely planned out. Our first attempt we were already at set 4. At this point half of our mothers were screaming at us to come up for dinner and didn't understand that we couldn't pause the online game. I still remember that we were nearing the 2nd to last wave on the last round of the last set. Of course we got hit with a Hunter spawn. In one easy burst of its laser two of us were killed. The hunter closed in on our other two guys and beat them down. Just like that 3 hours of work was lost. We were devastated, but pledged to try again a few days from then.

Upon our second time, we actually managed to complete the achievement! It was still incredibly stressful and the sweat didn't stop pouring until we all got that satisfying pop of the achievement sound! For all of us, we did all the other vidmaster achievements leading up to this, so this was the final necessary step for us to unlock Recon! Not to take away from the difficulty of the other vidmaster achievements, but this was definitely a heroic step.

You really don't have all that much time left, but if you want to participate in the challenge too, follow the link below!
https://steemit.com/deadspacecontest/@deadspace/deadspace-s-steemit-gaming-contest-win-some-sbd#@snrm/re-deadspace-deadspace-s-steemit-gaming-contest-win-some-sbd-20180302t002750035z

image.png

Sort:  

So, I just finished reading this as I'm going through all the entries in the contest right now. I just wanted to say, fuck this challenge. Fuck it straight in the ear.

I did not get so lucky as to finish it on my 2nd attempt. I kept having to try it with different groups of people for about 2 weeks before I finally fucking got it done. We'd always end up with someone who was bad at the game in the squad somehow (Probably because we were in a big group on HaloCharts called 40 and Above, and lots of shit tier players got in), and they'd cause us to fail it at some point.

I can't even tell you how many hours were wasted trying to get this challenge done for me. This doesn't even include all the other hours I played where I was trying to help out my random friends so that they could get it done. There were good times, and there were bad times. There was also the time that someone was talking about how he had just pissed all over the floor in a McDonald's. Plenty of memories from doing this damn challenge.

Definitely crazy memories from it. And holy shit you just reminded me about Halocharts. I was a stats fanatic and checked that site religiously back in the day!

Same here, dude, lol. Was always obsessed with my number of sticky grenade kills as well as some other random stats. I was ranked number #67 out of all the players on Halo 3 for exp earned in the Living Dead playlist. Probably my most impressive gaming accomplishment to date, if you could call it that, haha.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by snrm from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

If you like strategy games, there is several of us playing @steemnova you can sign up here
https://steemnova.intinte.org/index.php?ref=269
and join guild Logic Force, it is a turn based strategy game where you build space ships, explore space, and battle each other...

It's a good story you have here, I never played halo so I'm not sure if I imagined the scenario right, but I can see your feeling of achievement here.

Mentioned this post in my Daily Picks.

good game men follow now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67789.28
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72