You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Contemplating an Audio Job and Pondering my Future

in #ddaily6 years ago

It is a problem suggesting numbers to friends... At least I have that problem... Good luck! Do what you love most. And I think you do great as audio engineer, but it can be challenging and the major problem is the big investment one has to do in order to provide it as a professional service, mastering room acoustically treated and equipments etc.

Sort:  

Thanks @hedac. The initial outlay is a big part of my dilemma. I have some pro gear and some knowledge. I also have the will and the desire to make this a living. But I don't have the capital, I don't have the location, the property, the willingness to go into debt. I shouldn't be mastering with what I have; that should be outsourced to get the optimum quality and I could suggest that to the client. In fact I might do that. How does one grow organically into making a living from audio at nearly 50 with teenage kids and a mortgage and and overdraft and a failing retail business? It's a pickle to be sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66