Sort:  

I'd say pitch a number that makes it worth your time. The worst that can happen is they say no. Also Cam's, you are an amazing photographer....have thought of doing photography for people, whether it be portrait, wedding, landscape, tourism type photos? I think you have some amazing skills.

Thanks Brad. Yes, that's the obvious solution. It's not really worth spending brain cycles worrying about it. As for the photography - thank you so much for the feedback. I do enjoy it taking pictures and processing and editing and sharing - the whole thing. And video too for that matter. That's why I was so interested in discussing your courage in approaching people to do videos the way you do. I made the choice to let my photography slide a few years ago because I wasn't getting to my music as much as I wanted to, and I was earning decent side money from that. Not so much now though, since the bands broke up and I raised my prices for solo gigs. I'm still comfortable with that decision by the way, and there's another band opportunity coming up in the new year. Just got to get rid of this fucking post office. Man. Feels like the time is near when I just eat the loss and drop my keys through the letterbox. Bye bye, life savings...

Honest question: If you had the opportunity to talk to Gary Vee about the post office situation, what do you think he would say to do? I only ask because what value is life savings....with no life.

Interesting point. Forget Gary Vee; I'm pretty sure I know what I'd tell myself if I were an observer. Once the Christmas period is by, my wife will be running it for me to allow me to concentrate on building up my acoustic guitar channel and travel more to make interviews and video recordings to publish. I'll give it 100% and see where it takes us. The PO lease has another 3 years so there would be penalties for breaking it. Kinda gives me a timeline to keep growing into what I love as the kids work their way through school. That could give us a possible exit strategy. Who knows what other destructive decisions Post Office Ltd will make in the meantime though - that's what's cutting me so deep. It's like they're smoking us out (meaning self-employed postmasters like me).

It is a problem suggesting numbers to friends... At least I have that problem... Good luck! Do what you love most. And I think you do great as audio engineer, but it can be challenging and the major problem is the big investment one has to do in order to provide it as a professional service, mastering room acoustically treated and equipments etc.

Thanks @hedac. The initial outlay is a big part of my dilemma. I have some pro gear and some knowledge. I also have the will and the desire to make this a living. But I don't have the capital, I don't have the location, the property, the willingness to go into debt. I shouldn't be mastering with what I have; that should be outsourced to get the optimum quality and I could suggest that to the client. In fact I might do that. How does one grow organically into making a living from audio at nearly 50 with teenage kids and a mortgage and and overdraft and a failing retail business? It's a pickle to be sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99