Is anyone successfully dating out there?

in #dating8 years ago (edited)

I'm seriously very curious about this. I relocated to a large city and year and a half ago and have just been having the worst time dating. At first it was awesome. New people, new places, new adventures! and then I just hit a wall and started to only meet shitty people. The type that want nothing to do with you if you're not putting out on date 1 or 2. Is this the new normal? This is coming from the perspective of online dating from a 29 year old female, by the way.

I think most people agree that online dating isn't ideal. But I work at a place where I'm not allowed to get close to the employees, even in a friendly way. So it's pretty hard to meet people. Is there a better way to go about this that I'm missing? If you can offer some advice, that'd be fantastic. Are there any good success stories floating around? Will I be forever alone?

Sort:  

After having moved to a new large city (boston), I too tried the online thing. However online dating has only ever lead me to shitty dates. The people on there are seemingly only interested in extremely superficial things. For a while it got me pretty down, but then I decided that I wasn't the type of person for that scene.

I met my current girlfriend at a party thrown by a work friend. However if you aren't supposed to get close to people I can see how that would be really difficult. I would suggest looking to see if your city has meet up groups, ones that people join just to get out and do things. You may better find a potential partner in a setting that is not high pressure (like an online setup date). Its nice to be able to get to know someone with out the whole intensity of dating and whether or not to be physical to get in the way. My only other suggestion is to join a club or perhaps an inter-mural sports team. I had a friend who found a pretty good boyfriend from a bowling league.

Keep your chin up and best of luck!

Yeah I should check out some groups, I think San Diego has a pretty active scene. My work schedule is not ideal, swing shift :-(. Not many people want to hang out at midnight after I finish work.

Pick a girl in your city on facebook and add her.

If she accepts it. Great. Talk to her. Don't be creepy.
Eventually she'll realize you aren't a dirtbag and maybe want to chill.

But I am a female, looking for a man.

I have a feeling if I started adding random men on Facebook, they'd get the idea that I want a booty call lol

lol. Pick a girl anyways.. Men suck
(source: I am one and we are terrible)

I think maybe you are right.. Most relationships start out as either friendships or bootycalls though

Congratulations @milksteak! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @milksteak! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @milksteak! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66360.61
ETH 3420.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63