Why I could never be afraid of the dark- and why you shouldn't either.

in #darkness6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever been afraid of the dark? It seems many of us are, or perhaps have been at some point in our lives. I've always had a hard time understanding that. It has forever been the light that bothered me. In fact, according to my mother, I had a severe allergy to the sun as a child, providing me with an early example of why light doesn't necessarily equate to good.

But, this must be a very controversial opinion from what I can see, because everywhere we look there is the portrayal of the light as good, and of the darkness as evil. For example; Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Game of Thrones, and almost every other book or movie or religion ever.

Is this fair though? Or are we discriminating against the most benevolent of deities, the God of Darkness? No, I do not mean Satan, nor Lucifer-- he was called lightbearer after all. No, I mean the one thing I know for sure in this world must be a God. The thing that is left when you take every single thing out of a room, even the light. That which remains is only darkness, and it's hard not to feel as though that darkness has always been here; since the very beginning of time-- or even before it.

I believe we may have it the wrong way around. Light is the villain, and always has been. For darkness is still, silent, and wants for nothing. The light is the aggressor. it never remains still, and it wants for plenty. The light seeks out the dark and conquers it, and then it demands to have its temporary victory observed-- prideful bastard that it is. From this perspective, one could even look upon the creation of light in the bible as a declaration of war against the greater God, the one we call the Dark.

Fun fact: Did you know that plants tend to grow considerably quicker at night, when it's dark? This rapid growth in turn translates to the harvesting of more energy from the light in the next day.

Humans grow much quicker in the dark too. Even those that are afraid of it would be forced to overcome their fear before long, providing them with genuine growth. So perhaps the more time we spend in the dark; and the more attention we are able to pay to our own personal development as a human being, free of the distraction of light, perhaps the better we will be able to understand the light, and the more we will be able to draw from it, when we emerge from the darkness.



I am selling this account; as well as all the content contained on it. There is also a 0.2BTC bounty for any who can find a buyer. Click here to find out more.


Sort:  

My beard and nails grow way faster when I'm hungover and stay in the dark, soo... Ur right.😉
I never thought of this in this way, but it really makes a lot of sense. Original Works!

It is not impossible to be consumed by our growth.

That's an interesting sentence, but you're going to have to elaborate. What do you mean?

We know for example that people who grow to be incredibly tall, die younger.
The same goes for the awakened mind and society. An awakened being can grow
to be mad in realizing that it's all an illusion. Societal growth is maddening in itself.
However, I cannot think clearly when I'm tired =P

That was clear enough, and I have some anecdotal evidence to support your hypothesis too.

So impressive, apparently, that it remains unworthy of your upvote.

I despise fishing. Don't do it on my post.

okk.. got it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57