Find Yourself a D&D Game!

in #dand7 years ago

IMG_20180122_211751.jpg

I often receive comments along the lines of 'I wish my friends played D&D' or 'I wish I had a D&D group' and I want to help you guys find a D&D game.

I woke up one morning and had a hankering for some D&D. None of my friends played, I didn't even know if the game was still popular and most importantly I had no clue where to begin. So what did I do? I went to my dear friend google and started looking. I ended up on a popular buy and sell site where I found an ad looking for players to join a drop-in style campaign at a local gaming store. I honestly wasn't even aware the store existed and didn't realize that was an option for a campaign. I expected to find a bunch of strangers and willingly walk into their basement only to be sacrificed to some long forgotten ritual. Instead I discovered a cool game shop, made a bunch of friends and have been playing D&D and various other games for several years since.

So how do I recommend you find a game?

  1. Try out google!
  2. Check any local buy and sell sites (kijiji, craig's list, etc.)
  3. Try out sites like Reddit
  4. Go to your local game stores and ask!

You won't find a game unless you look and you might be surprised by how easy it is to track down a game. Don't be intimidated by never having played before or playing with people you don't know. If you are worried about stranger danger, stick to your local gaming stores to start. Who knows, even if the D&D doesn't work out you might discover some other games you love!

Good luck searching and I hope at least one of you decides to hunt down a new D&D campaign!

Sort:  

Wasn't I Dming that awful session, I had no idea how the game was played, they made me watch an episode of community to teach me the rules of the game.

Was still fun!

Thank you for this advice. I have a bunch of friends, but they won't learn D&D. I wish I would've thought of these sooner.

I think a lot of people play D&D for the opportunity to self-insert into a fantasy world and be a hero or other sort of badass. I know I do! It's a fun way to explore your creative side and build interesting characters through actions that have lasting consequences. Good groups feel more like collaborative storytelling - to the point where many authors often lend from campaign events in their writing.

For those that don't like face-to-face groups (or mouth-words in general), I'd highly recommend looking up online MUDs (multi-user-dimensions). They can be a lot like the D&D experience, where you're prompted to act through being given 'descriptions' of what's happening around you. The world's always there too - so there's no need to wait for a Dungeon Master or group in order to play!

Good MUDs also let players leave marks in the world's history and make a lasting name for themselves. It's something I definitely hope to get right in the MUD I'm building. :)

What software(z) are you using to make your MUD?

I'm using Evennia for the fundamental base objects and session handling and building everything else from there. It's coded in Python!

It's very barebones, but it's very open-ended and modifiable. :)

Neat! Thanks for sharing.

I've never played a MUD, sounds very cool!

Ye. Text-based is best-based bruv. 8]

I've found they usually appeal to the kinds of people who've played D&D for ages and get how roleplay can be used to influence events. Follow me if you're interested at all! I'll be starting blogging about my one soon and I'll be talking a bit about my history with playing them. :)

You should also take a look at roll20. There are loads of DnD5E games on there (and loads of other RPGs, too, which I very much recommend – play more than just DnD5E).

roll20-dnd.png
There's 10 more pages.

Don't be intimidated by strangers. Many people are friendly, and don't mind explaining the rules to you. I met some amazing people via roll20.

This a great site. I totally forget about this!

I was about 5 years old when my dad had a DnD group he would play with about once every 2-3 months and I always sat quitly and watched. My dad had an orange D30 that I use to always wanna roll and when the group was rolling up treasure I would get to roll for them. Need less to say when I was about 11 or 12 I was old enough to start playing. My dads DnD group had mostly separated by then (moved to different states etc) so the core group spans from Minnesota, Illinois and Florida. We still get together twice a year at least now playing a mix of the first and second editions of DnD. We have three different families in our group and two of those families have 3 generations of players. It’s an awesome game that brings people together. I love to play!

That sounds awesome! One of my cousins has a group like that, I just think it's cool that a game can hep create a bond like that in people.

It is awesome!! I love that a simple game (that’s an endless world of possibilities) can keep us all together.

I'm moving to Austria in May, I don't even speak german, I hope I learn the language fast, so I can go and play D&D with new people.

Your post very very important and good.
And beautiful

Amazing post
Amd i like game

Nice post and wonderful write-ups

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60857.34
ETH 2383.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68