My Life as a Boat Dog (The True Story of a Dog Who Sailed the Ocean w/His Humans... and some Cats)

in #dailypetphotography6 years ago

Tiberius-46-cover.jpg

Psst!

Hey, you. Don't act like you can't see me. I'm over here, behind the cat. I'm the pretty one (but don't tell the cat I said that, she gets kinda pissy about things like that. I just pretend to be dumb most of the time so she doesn't bite my head off. I am hoping someday we can be friends, so just be super nice to her, okay?)

backdeck.jpg

My name is Tiberius and this is a story about when I lived on a boat with my humans (and the aforementioned cat, Tempest)

This is my bed, or rather my room. Cabin, if you must. I'm forced to share this small room with two of my humans, which makes for come very cramped sleeping quarters, but there is only so much room on a boat and if I let them sleep out on the deck, I'd have to be running up there every 5 minutes to make sure that they didn't fall overboard.

cabin-bed.jpg

Here I am, standing on the pilothouse. Other than climbing the mast (which my lack of thumbs won't allow anyway), this is the uppermost watching spot on our floating home. I spend many hours up here, watching for interlopers and trespassers. I'll admit that the life of a boat dog is fairly quiet most of the time, though. There aren't many problems with people trying to sneak up on our abode.

pilothouse.jpg

Twice a day I take my humans to shore for our daily exercise. We take the miniature boat to shore (or the kayak, if it's available) and play, walk, fetch or sometimes even cook on the beach. It's quite the nice life, I must say.

dinghyride.jpg

This is the look I give my humans when I need them to get with the program and throw my ball or my Frisbee. The female human especially likes to hold the phone up and repeatedly take photographs of me. I try to keep watch so that she doesn't catch me unawares, but it's rather difficult since she seems to have that thing handy all the damn time. Anyway, here is a photo in which I think I look particularly stunning. Don't you agree?

beach-1.jpg

The humans are inescapably lazy, though and manage to avoid nearly all exercise by just throwing the ball or the frisbee out into the ocean for me to retrieve. Since I don't mind the workout and I at least want to stay in tip top shape, I'm happy to let them do that for me. There have been a few times that I tried to make them go fetch for me, but the lazy bastards just chose to load us all up and take the miniature boat to go out and get it. It's ridiculous, I tell you.

water-fetch.jpg

If you look closely, you can join me in looking out upon my ocean home as she sits at anchor, patiently awaiting our return.

tiberius-beach-boatbkgrnd.jpg

Day #46 of the @freewritehouse selfie contest!

46-selfie-tiberius.png

blues-smoke-water.png

If you're interested in the cat's perspective on boat life, you can check out her posts here. She's much more prolific at the writing thing. As a cat, she seems to have a lot more to say on a regular basis.

Tempest-Cover-21-300.png

blues-smoke-water.png

My Real Life posts:

LifeWithMultiplePersonalities-300.png

THUMB-300-unlikelylovestory.png

An Unlikely Love Story

The 3 Day Engagement: Our Real Life Crazy Love Story

The Wedding Day: Part 1

blues-smoke-water.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

thealliance-400_square.pngIOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

blues-smoke-water.png

Photos are mine except where they are credited to their source under the photos. Crossposted to my Medium Blog
.
byn-sig.png

Sort:  

Wonderful post and love the photos, they are pretty epic to say the least :D

Thank you! It was a pretty epic adventure.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-29T00:10:03
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 170.55/200.00
Total Photos: 17
Total comments: 26
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I love this story and the gorgeous pictures! Awesome @byn.

Thank you. The prompt was a good excuse to go looking through boat photos again! :)

I love what the prompts bring out in people! I would have never known about your pup!

He really had to put up with a lot on that journey 😂

Yeah, poor puppy! He LOVED the boat life, but he did get pretty stressed wanting all of us humans to always stay together in one spot. He took his protector duties very seriously!

The humans are inescapably lazy! lol..dang lazy bums. Hey I didn't know there was a dog boat version, that is too funny. Was it hard to get into the mind of your dog? lol.
those views! wow..how long were you guys doing that?

Ha, the prompt yesterday was "talking dog" so it inspired the post. We haven't written much of anything from his perspective before!

I was on the boat for a year. Patrick was there for two years. The kids were off and on for a 6 months to a year, to two years!

what the??? you don't say...that's amazing.
what did you do for income?
and you probably already wrote about it but where all did you go?
what are this "prompt" things and where do they come from? lol
I don't get it. A Prompt shows up and you have to do a post about it?
can I give you one and you have to do a post on it?lol

The prompts are from @mariannewest (Sorry, I've gotten VERY lax on posting the links to her daily prompts!) and it is part of the daily #freewrite challenge.

I haven't written about it much as of yet. I keep waiting to do so. We lived off of savings. It was EXTREMELY cheap living. No rent, no utilities, etc.

This is actually how it all began: https://medium.com/@bynalways/one-conversation-oneyear-ago-my-life-became-an-amazing-adventure-60a37a940dd1

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62487.83
ETH 3340.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46