Daily Nature Fix: Just a Buffalo and His Tiny Bird Hat. (Original Photos)

in #dailynaturefix8 years ago (edited)

Hello nature fans. Today's daily nature fix is a few photos I snapped of a bison wearing a tiny bird as a hat!

^^^Get a load of these clowns.

       Now as cute as it may be, this isn't a very uncommon occurrence.  Small bird will often hover around, or on, large hoofed mammals.  They tend to eat a lot of the ticks and flies and other nuisance bugs that the large beasts tend to attract.  They also use their fur for nesting material.

        The bison certainly don't seem to mind the small passengers though. There is even some theories that the birds act as an alarm, making all kinds of noise and causing a ruckus if any danger is near.  I was sure to keep my distance from these guys, as not to disturb them.  

    I would have liked to gotten a lot closer to get a tighter shot, but the bird took off after about 2 minutes or so.  Nonetheless, I captured these images and that memory for the ages.  I hope you got a kick out of this pair of screwballs! These photos were taken in Yellowstone National Park with a Nikon D90.

I post a DNF blog every day, so make sure you follow me! See you tomorrow! - Adam

***Daily Nature Fix is a daily blog showcasing the natural world.  It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels.***

Sort:  

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

HA! @customnature! Look at that little guy.

This is great! I saw some Bison for the second time ever in South Dakota while I was visiting Mount Rushmore. Where were these taken?

These were taken in Yellowstone. I love bison! I think they're my favorite land mammal, with grizzly or black bear being second.

Have you gotten close to a Grizzly before?

Looks like my mother in law

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53