Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 09/29/18> Coming back from the fork… and SBI Saturday.

in #dailydose6 years ago

It feels good...

Well it has been a while since I have been able to post Daily Dose to steem block chain and so it feels good to be writing this one. I am so glad that it looks like the much anticipated HF 20 and all the blessings it will bestow on us here finally appears to be back on course after having run aground on Tuesday. How much damage was done to the ship is the question?

Any port in a...

I was able to keep my string of consecutive Daily Dose publications going utilizing the WeKu block chain, I never intended to use the place for publishing the Daily Dose but like sailors say, any port in a storm is better than no port at all.

What went wrong...

So what exactly went wrong on HF20? According to the management that runs the steem block chain HF20 was a successful fork and when went off without a hitch. That is what they proclaimed shortly after HF 20 was implemented on Tuesday.

There is no doubt...

If knocking 98% of the users of steemit out of being able to do anything on the steem block chain was the purpose then there is no doubt that it was indeed a success. It was accomplished rather quickly, so they were able to deem it a success damn near instantaneously, because from what I was told that was about how quickly everyone was affected.

I was working when 10:00 AM came about on Tuesday, which was the local time HF20 went into affect here in Texas, and by the time I was able to check in on my computer at noon the place was in shambles for the average user.

Just who in the ...

Just who in the hell is the captain of the SS Steemit ship? Is it @ned?
Who wrote the code or program that was implemented for this HF20? Did they get a severance package when they got fired Tuesday afternoon? Did they even get fired at all?

Wait a minute, those last couple questions don’t make sense to even ask.

Changing perspectives...

I keep looking at this situation from user perspective and not a management perspective. From a user perspective this was a grand guzbucking of the users but according to the folks that run this place it was a success. So let me try again with my questions.

The right questions...

Who wrote the code or program that was implemented with HF 20?

Did they get bonus and a big pay raise since it was overwhelmingly successful in just a matter of a few minutes?

Did they get a promotion?

Those would be the appropriate questions since it was so successful so quickly. Silly me for thinking otherwise, no wonder I do sales… I just don’t think along the lines of management.

We are not customers...

No matter what business you are in you need customers to survive and when it comes to this steem block chain and steemit we, steemit.com users, think of ourselves as the customers. The reality is we are not customers now that I think about.

The long term use...

The real long term use for block chain technology is in commerce not social media. Just like Face Book users are being used for FB to sell advertising spaces on their platform we the social media users of the steem block chain are just the testing apparatus for the amount of transactions the block chain can handle and how quickly it can handle them. So FB users are being used to generate revenue and we are being used as lab rats to test product.

The goal of HF20...

This is why HF 20 was so important to get implemented, the goal is not to get rid of spammers and such as some people have indicated. The goal is to establish transaction costs so that the block chain will be able to compute how much to charge businesses that use the block chain. Up until now with steemit it has been just to see how the mechanics of this system worked and if it could keep up from a functioning standpoint. Since the functioning has been established management needed a way to compute cost per transaction, so now we measure in mana those transactions.

The lab rats...

Just like the lab rats get their food daily to keep them alive during testing we are given a little something each day to keep us alive in here as well in the form of rewards from the rewards pool.

The only mistake made in the implementation of HF 20 was that 98% of us lab rats got gassed and damned near died off so then it was up to witnesses to straighten up the mess and bring us back to life.

I was pretty hard on...

I was pretty hard on the witnesses the last couple days in my Daily Dose columns and in chat but that was due to my ignorance of what exactly is taking place here. Corrected me if I am wrong, and I might very well be, the witnesses don’t write the code they only run it, correct?

My apologies to...

If that is the case, and I think it is, they were just doing what they were told to by management. Only when the shit hit the fan and all of us lab rats were dying, it then became the witnesses’ job to figure out a way to revive us. So, my apologies go out to them for being so hard on them.

Where is PETA...

The way I see it now is we are test lab rats, but we are important in order to prove this concept of block chain works. We aren’t what management considers “customers” we are just contract labor at best if you don’t like being called a lab rat. I just hope that management gets their shit straight going forward before one of us has to make a call to PETA and turn them in for abusing us rats.

That being said and this being Saturday, it is time for some SBI give away.

SBI Saturday is here...

This week’s winners are three of my favorite rats on here who were brave enough to poke their heads out during all this turmoil of HF 20 and drop a comment on my post from Tuesday after HF20 went into effect. So, @abbak7 along with @bigtom13 and @ericvancewalton each get a share of SBI and my thanks for your continuous support especially during the hard times.

Tell me your...

So have I figured this out? You tell me, I think I might be on the right track here with where this is headed and what part we play. Tell me your thoughts in the comments.

Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Note: For those of you wondering; @ned will get a share too since he was mentioned by name. I can't go against my self imposed rules.

Sort:  

The goal is to establish transaction costs so that the block chain will be able to compute how much to charge businesses that use the block chain. Up until now with steemit it has been just to see how the mechanics of this system worked and if it could keep up from a functioning standpoint. Since the functioning has been established management needed a way to compute cost per transaction, so now we measure in mana those transactions.

My thoughts exactly. Steemit is groundbreaking – there's never been anything like it before. Presumably when it was first launched, it didn't occur to dan or ned how much the bandwidth costs might be once it all got going. Now that is all having to be recalibrated. That's my take on it anyway.
Maybe it was my own stupidity for posting just before the hardfork took place. The upvotes came rolling in – and then suddenly stopped. But I didn't die! And my voting strength has returned to pre-HF20 levels.
I might well be wrong – haven't quite got my brain round all of this – but I think the RCs system probably won't be that much different from the bandwidth system in practical terms, only the process will be more visible.

Yes, I think that we really won't be able to tell much or any difference was everything is past another 24 hours and the dev's will be able to collect the data they need in order to charge stuff accordingly.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 269 (10/02/18)

Boy am I glad to see you posting here and me commenting here. And thank you for the SBI share. I really do appreciate it.

I'm listening to Aggroed's Witness Forum as I type. He's not being soft on them or himself.

The witnesses are charged with making sure that the code works as written. Looks like they might have believed the dev's and writers more than would prove prudent in the next go round. A serious guzbuck to be sure.

I have a couple of questions, at least one of which I'll get answered or at least talked about.

Pretty small comment for me, I want to see how it affects my numbers. I think it will be a really small amount.

Yes, the Daily Dose goes both directions as enjoy get your response each day so I put out a Daily Dose and get some Daily Doses in return.
I couldn't catch any of that witness forum live, Shortie had a girl scout event I drove her to and so I missed it, but I will try and find the tape and listen.
I may have nailed it with the witnesses being made to clean up the dev's mess up on this and it may also be the witnesses just put to much faith in what the dev's said and didn't scrutinize it enough prior to launching it.
Either way it is water under the bridge at this point and I think only a few people drowned in the flood.

Thank you Sir!
No time to read the whole post right now...busy @ work..

Posted using Partiko Android

You are welcome, I didn't know you worked. I thought you were retired, I learn something new everyday.

Thank you for the SBI and glad to see you back! Things on the blockchain appear to be settling now. Hopefully Steemit will build in the functionality to monitor Mana/RC here instead of another website. For now we have to go here - https://steemd.com/@sultnpapper. Have a great weekend!

Good to be back and as much as I like Puerto WeKu this is my home for the Daily Dose and look forward to continuing it here. Thanks for that link, have a great weekend too Eric.

Yes I do feel the change was needed, but sadly it wasnt implemented well, but the good thing as far as I am concerned is the fact they seem to be learning lessons from this and hopefully that will be good for the future
I also have bene on WEKu I will go look for you there now

yes, they need to work on the testing protocols , those were definitely lacking according to the witness forum I listened to today. I am over there see you soon.

Yes if it becomes a good learning experience and is as good for the platform as they hope it to be it will have been worth the dry days

The problem is the steem block chain fork was never tested, the witnesses admitted that, they were testing stuff but not the stuff that would have shown up had it been a real simulation of the fork. Most said they were testing their apps and stuff to see how those would work after the fork.
SMT's will be a challenge and they had better get that fork right or this place might very well implode.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 5 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 126 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

howdy sir sultnpapper! you are so right from what I understand we are the lab rats to be working this blockchain so costs can be determined because it wasn't designed for us but to sell to large corporations like Coke and if that happens then we'll see if we still have a home here.

We need more investors, big money corporations to come in and that will help steem survive and we need more members joining too to help steemit survive.

If all works well then we'll have a secure platform for many years to come. If it doesn't then alot of us will feel like we wasted a junk of our lives. Great post sir!

Thanks man. I can tell you that the company I rep products for is well over a billion dollars in sales each year world wide and I brought up block chain technology with the CEO in waiting at the time, who has since taken that position, and he wasn't familiar with it, but he said he could see some definite uses for it and said he was going to explore it. I haven't seen him since that conversation to know if he ever looked into but next time I run into him I will be bringing it up in conversation.

I feel sorry for the witnesses as they did get blamed for not fixing the problem more promptly, but is the developers who cade and are supposed to test their work before they put it for the masses. If the code is faulty then the responsibility lies with the developers but they wear Teflon suits. Nothing sticks.

The witnesses aren't totally scott free in it either, they had it to test and admittedly did a poor job of that, so there is plenty of fault to be shared. From what I understood them to say was they could actually rejected it but since those that actually did some testing had waited to long to bring up issues that it was too late to call it off once the date was set.

Do you think they have learned anything?

I worked in software development for many years, and I can say that even in a well-managed system, guzbucking happens all the times. There are always gremlins hiding in the system. No matter how much you plan, those little suckers find a way of creating havoc. If you have a strong foundation, you can isolate the problem and minimize the damage. In something decentralized and still new like the blockchain, the best you can hope for is great people so passionate about the project that they are willing to stay up day and night to fix it.

I am sure it does as far as the gremlins go, I think the witnesses got themselves between a rock and hard place with HF20 because they weren't on top of the testing in a way they could have been. At least it appears to working now, so we will see if it really does help reduce the stuff they said it will reduce.
What made you get out of software dev?

I left software development back in 2005 because over the years I had gotten farther and farther away from my real passion: the arts. I started in high-tech working specifically on bringing audio and video to the internet. Through a series of twists and turns (marrying my boss, so we could no longer work on the same team and a non-compete when I changed companies), I had to work in more traditional software development, which was cool, but not for me.

I wrote about what finally gave me the kick I needed to follow my passion and step back into the arts, which then took me around the world to Europe. You can read about that journey in two posts: part 1 and part 2.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53