You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 09/21/18> Driving while blind so to speak… and winners.

in #dailydose6 years ago (edited)

And by the way...we are not on HF20...only few witnesses run it yet...
And you only post once a day...it didn't really affect you...so stop it...:))
More shit can happen by next Tuesday...

Sort:  

Very true , I only post once a day but throughout my day I read other peoples posts in between and at lunch and stuff. There is more that I do on here than just write and post one time a day.
The reason I said HF20 was that was what I was told in the discord server I was using to try and find out what was going on, so thanks for clearing that up. What was the real reason since I never heard anymore on it other than it was back up and running?

FOR TSE:

And you only post once a day...it didn't really affect you...so stop it...:))
More shit can happen by next Tuesday...

This is possibly the most lucid comment I've ever seen from this guy, so don't discourage him. But I get your point.

Still, it gave me a much-needed honest-to-goodness laugh first thing this morning. ("It didn't really affect you ... so stop it." That sounds exactly like something I'd say!)

Some of the messages that went up on Monday did say this was because HF20 was underway, but if I got the whole story, what actually happened was ---> they were doing some preliminary work to get ready or test for HF20 -- coming up on the 25th. They have to have all the witness nodes "on the same page" so to speak in order for Steemit to operate properly (or maybe at all.) There was a glitch in the code they were using and the trial run was a bust ... and when they tried to revert back to HF19 -- which is the ultimate fallback position on anything to deal with computers -- that didn't work either because something there had also been corrupted.

So instead of a quick on / off blink-of-the-lights kind of problem, they had to find out what was wrong, patch it, get all of the witnesses to patch their piece of the puzzle .. and try the fallback move again. This took a whole lot longer than even the witnesses expected. (I was probably the only one not surprised, because I work with The Weasel ... and when he has a "code problem" it can literally be weeks getting it fixed. (Mostly because he works "in between naps.")

So I'm impressed -- and grateful -- that they got it up and running again as fast as they did. But I also predict HF20 -- The Real Deal -- could turn into a horror show, too. We'll have to see.

Yes, that code stuff is nothing I know anything about so I just have to take what I am hearing from people that I believe know what is going on.
Time will tell and we'll see but I do , do more than just one post a day. Whether or not anyone sees it,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46