Daily Art Quote #9 (by Vincent van Gogh)

in #dailyartquote7 years ago (edited)

Daily Art Quote:

“I dream of painting and then I paint my dream.” 

~ Vincent Van Gogh 


("The Starry Night", 1889, by Vincent van Gogh)


I have always loved The Starry Night painting by Van Gogh.  In the late 1990's I painted some of the scenery for a production of The Tempest, by Shakespeare at the Bellevue Community College (Now just called "Bellevue College").  I painted the backdrop which hung behind a large platform that was supported by several carved figures (statues).  I pretty much only worked on the backdrop, though.  It was loosely based on Van Gogh's Starry Night, with large swirls of blue.  I remember painting those swirls, with the drop stapled to the floor.  I remember walking around in circles while I painted the long, curved strokes of paint - almost in spirals.  It was fun & somewhat dizzying.  I remember feeling excited at the opportunity of getting to "copy" (even just somewhat) the "Starry Night" painting.  

This website has a very good write-up of his life.  I just read most of it, and am very saddened to read about all of his troubles with mental health and depression, and his very short life.  I was already aware of him cutting off his ear, but did not realize that he died of a self-inflicted gunshot wound, and at the young age of 37!  This website has all of his paintings catalogued and in chronological order.  It is a HUGE list of paintings!  He was very prolific!  Here are a few more of his paintings:

("The Mulberry-Tree", 1889, by Vincent van Gogh)


("Mountainous Landscape Behind Saint-Paul Hospital", 1889, by Vincent van Gogh)


("Olive Trees with Yellow Sky and Sun", 1889, by Vincent van Gogh)


("Orchard in Blossom, Bordered by Cypresses", 1888, by Vincent van Gogh)


Have an Artful Day!


Daily Art Quote #8 (by Luhraw)

Daily Art Quote #7 (by Edgar Degas)

Daily Art Quote #6 (by Bob Ross)

Daily Art Quote #5 (by Georgia O'Keeffe)

Daily Art Quote #4 (by Leonardo da Vinci)

Daily Art Quote #3 (by Winston Churchill)

Daily Art Quote #2 (by Louise Nevelson)

Daily Art Quote #1 (by Pablo Picasso)


All images found at www.vangoghgallery.com

Sort:  

I love art!!

37!! I didn't know that either. Very informative post mate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74