Cervélo Canada Cup, Stage 3 - DNF; Cycling help needed

Today I participated in Stage 3 of the Canada Cup. It was a brutal experience - I had issues with my trainer and digital connections right from the start. I had to log out 3 times and attempt a restart. Unfortunately, when you restart, they throw you right up with the pack again - I would have much rather done the course on my own instead of being thrown back in the pack. I have a feeling that because of this, the entire effort today disqualified my entry for the contest. Which means that if I don't properly participate in the next two events then I'm fully disqualified for the prize.

IMG_9656.JPG

Here are my efforts for today:

Screen Shot 2018-01-27 at 4.12.52 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-01-27 at 4.13.02 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-01-27 at 4.13.30 PM.png

After this very discouraging session I decided to spend some time tuning the trainer and finding out what is really going on. It seems that I had not fully connected the magnets that are generating the resistance on the back wheel. So when I would put out a lot of watts, the magnets would move off of the wheel track and then create minimal resistance thus slowing my virtual self down significantly. This would happen anytime I would go over 200+ watts. which is a decent effort but if you're in a sprint, 200 watts will not cut it and it'll put you close to last place if you're participating in any race.

IMG_2380 2.JPG

After the troubleshooting session and believe I sorted out the issue. I tested out the trainer and I maxed out a 600 watt burst! The magnets on the rear trainer stayed perfectly aligned and I could go straight back into a normal pace without having to dismount and adjust the magnets back. Yes, that is just as annoying as it sounds.

Stage 4 of the race is tomorrow - here's hoping for a much more entertaining and fun experience which is exactly what this is supposed to be.

I've also been experiencing a knocking noise coming from what seems to be the bottom bracket each time the left pedal is at the 6 o'clock position (down). It's a very annoying noise and I'm not entirely sure whats going on. From my research, when the bottom bracket needs to be replace, it will make more of a grinding noise which is definitely not what I'm hearing. If any cyclists have an idea as to what could be causing this, I'd love to hear from you!

Yesterday I ordered a new rear cassette (Ultegra 6700 - 10 speed) and a new chain (Ultegra 6701 - 10 speed). As I'm new to the cycling game, I'm trying to stay ahead of the maintenance and prevent any unnecessary wear and tear. Once I receive the product and install I'll be sure to do a review.

Sort:  

Man congrats on the ride so far no small feat. Sounds like you sorted out the technical issues. Good luck on tomorrow. Ride strong

Thanks bro! Stage 4 went much much better!

Cycling Comunity on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support you!

Keep those weels rolling and enjoy the ride!!

If you want to know more about our mission click here.
If you want to join us, click here.
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone

Technical issues have a habit of ruining a zwift ride/race I know that I have abandoned at least 20 rides on zwift because of them . Glad you got them sorted and continued your ride.

Thanks Ben - yes its happened quite a bit but I think I'm in the clear now. How are you liking Zwift, when you can complete the ride? ;)

I love it I found that it helps keep me motivated through the winter a whole lot more then just watching old races on Youtube. I was actually in the beta for it way back when and I'm amazed at how far it has come form there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56847.11
ETH 2970.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29