Genting Peras Climb

in #cycling7 years ago

Its a wet afternoon, since it was quite today so I decide to share something. It was a ride I did back in 2015, on Boxing Day to be exact, it's a hill climb ride I did with my friends when almost everyone we know say that we can't achieve it. In the end we achieve it and never leave anyone behind.

Its a hilly route with scenery along the way starting from the small town of Batu 18 Hulu Langat all the way untill Genting Peras or Perez as cyclist calls it. Going for the full loop it's called Broga Jantan by cyclist which go all the way to Kuala Klawang, Lenggeng, Broga, Semenyih and then back to Hulu Langat totaling around 120km plus or minus. Wanted to do the full Broga Jantan loop but I wasn't ready physically and mentally. Maybe in a later stage when I am fully prepared, I will do it.

This route is also popular with car enthusiast and bikers, the bikers call it KKIC short for Kuala Klawang International Circuit.

We meet up at the road just beside the Hulu Langat Police Station, reaching around 0630 I waited for my friends to arrive. Upon arrival and having setup our bike we proceed to roll out.

IMG_20151226_072608.jpgBikes all done, ready to roll

As it was our first time cycling here, my friend Fai brought along 3 walkie talkie to be safe just in case of anything happens. As usual I was the sweeper so I had one walkie talkie with me. The other two was at the Bomoh who was leading and Fai who was in the middle. The first 10km from Hulu Langat till Simpang Perez was mostly flat except for a small climb heading the Perez junction.

IMG_20151226_082355.jpgSimpang Perez as it is known among cyclist

We rest for around 5 minutes then continue with our ride uphill and it was climbing all the way, around 10km. Here comes the tough part as all of us never cycle uphill like this before.

IMG_20151226_084115.jpgBomoh, Fai, Yeoh, Adi and Edward

Around 20 minutes into the climb we decided to stop to catch our breath and take some pictures. It wasn't an easy climb but we are determined to reach the top.

IMG_20151226_085437.jpgMy second stop, only 3 of us as the rest is faster so they went on

So we stop for the second time to catch our breath. This time it was only Bomoh, Fai and me. I did tell myself that even if I have to push my foldie, I will do it as long as reach the top.

IMG_20151226_093522.jpgAt the top

My fitness level is not good at all after so many years of heavy drinking. But we finally reach the top. It's because we supported each other. Its great to cycle with these guys and I look forward to the time that we will cycle together again.

DQmR2DTjBcxZkEqNLTVVPLFDPbNrrz8HMi93BUb1Vp6iMdd_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kllam15 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Respect, this is a serious undertaking on those bikes

thanks. i normally use the bike for daily commuting but wanted to try climbing with it

Cycling Comunity on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support you!

Keep those weels rolling and enjoy the ride!!

If you want to know more about our mission click here.
If you want to join us, click here.
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67714.75
ETH 2616.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69