Social Media Fatigue - BicyclessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cycling5 years ago (edited)

I haven't been posting much lately. Busy, batty and confused. On the other hand I have been doing some of the things that was lying on the todo shelf, things that was bogging me down as they were things that was expected of me. Especially my youngest daughter have not wasted any chance to remind me that I should renovate the bike in the cellar that was left there many years ago when my eldest daughter had a normal adult bike for her birthday. The little one has grown and is not really that little anymore and the blue bike she has used until now was beginning to look like a clowns tiny circus bike.

Bikes are the way we move around in this family so there has always been room in the budget for repairs at the bicycle repairman, Not having a car saves you a lot of money in this country. But I have also always made any repairs I knew how to... just to be thrifty - considering my lacking talent for making money it has been the best way for me to stay free and independent of a real job.

IMG_20190423_093418.jpg

My wife's Finnish Jopo bike with a new saddle, bicycle chain and induction rear light.

I have been putting this off for a long time, but the hole in the wooden box of the Christiania bike and my daughters relentless pestering me to fix her a new bike, finally made me give in.

IMG_20190423_093008.jpg

A hole in the wooden box of the Christiania bike. I will return with a report on that home builder project when I get the time to actually do it.

IMG_20190423_093022.jpg

After more than ten years sturdy service the plywood of the Christiania bike is rooting away. I have decided to cut, paint and lacquer the new plywood. It would probably be easier to simply invest the 300$ in new prefabricated modules, but... I guess I got carried away when planning this.

I tend to prefer to buy in local shops, but this time I choose a webshop as I had to order so many different things. I have more than 20 bikeshops within a kilometer of my home, so I guess they have businesses that can survive without me. The place I bought from was a super efficient little shop in the Danish countryside, and they sent me all my orders so they were available next morning even though I ordered at 4 pm.

IMG_20190426_103250.jpg

A set of break cables from the webshop in Jylland.

Repairing a bike is actually rather easy. All the components are standardised, and you can choose what you like and it almost always fit. There will maybe be a couple of different solutions but never a vendor lock-in. It is really just like a large Meccano set.

IMG_20190426_113746.jpg

My daughters new bike. I replaced the tubes on both wheels.

IMG_20190426_113657.jpg

The most expensive part of the project was battery free bike lights. But as bicycle lights are mandatory by law and these works for years (mine has worked for more than 5 years without maintenance) I consider them a good investment.

IMG_20190426_113732.jpg

The brake cable on the front V-brakes had rusted into one brown clog, so I replaced the cable entirely.

IMG_20190426_113711.jpg

Last but not least... pink handles. I didn't choose the colour.

Sort:  

There's nothing like a bit of manual labour to combat confusion.

Sometimes you just need to fiddle around with oily, small metal parts.

And then sleep; don't forget to sleep to combat battiness.

The only true cure!

I am jealous of your bike life , we NEED cars here in the USA unfortunately unless you live full time in one of the few cities with good-ish transport.

We have two cars to pay for and it's not fun! I've been so busy as well with this bathroom redo that our new builder ruined and so am stressed and too busy to art much or go online much, but I'm trying to steal a few moments for Steemit here and there.

I hope the bike turned out @katharsisdrill and you get some drawing time in!

@donnadavisart - I know what you speak of. I lived in Canada, had at times 2 cars (and a truck) which I needed, so as not to be a "prisoner" in my house. Since living in Vienna, I don't need any of it and am free of the burden, using excellent public transportation. I am thinking about a bike, but also just a (folding) scooter might do to get around faster than walking. Wherever you go in Europe, you find well developed bike lanes just about everywhere. Bikes are allowed and encouraged where cars are banned (more and more pedestrian zones).

I'm so jealous of that @themoplastic I wish I could just move to UK or EU but alas, as an American, each time I've tried I've failed as there is no legal way for me to reside there for longer than a few months. I'm stuck, as most Americans, in our paved highway of cars :/

Here the politicians talk about trains being very expensive, but what they forget is that car must cost at least the same - the investment is just not centralised. Ordinary people living in areas with bad infrastructure must have a car each to get around. The price of all these cars and the price of managing the roads must be at least equal to the cost of public transport. Only difference is that the politicians do not need to find these money in their own budget.

I have already biked with the little one (10 years) and every time we are overtaken by a suburb-man in lycra and bicycle helmet she try to follow his pace. Speeding on bikes :)

We've no good trains here in USA either. After WWII we were the 'experimental country' in the auto so they ripped out train lines and even the few trains we have here are so out of date and so slow compared to in EU UK. So sad. What's funny is pre WWII you could take a train from the very remote tip of Cape Cod (where I live) which is very rural and seaside, into Boston. That was all removed and the traffic jams in the summers here are just pathetic... I wish we could have open travel to work and live into the EU, but that won't happen I guess, ever :(

Trains are the transportation I like the most. Having a table, being able to read a book, walking to the toilet, the sound, the landscape running past framed by a large window.

Media fatigue: happened to me - I had not posted much of late either. If I would just be content with popping in the odd photo and a few lines .... but like you, I want my posts to be quality - and this one of yours certainly is. You set the bar, my friend!
Anyway, resteemed and upvoted - and maybe I can get my mojo up to post myself!

good work) sometimes you just need to start to get something


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62