You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Social Media Fatigue - Bicycles

in #cycling5 years ago

I am jealous of your bike life , we NEED cars here in the USA unfortunately unless you live full time in one of the few cities with good-ish transport.

We have two cars to pay for and it's not fun! I've been so busy as well with this bathroom redo that our new builder ruined and so am stressed and too busy to art much or go online much, but I'm trying to steal a few moments for Steemit here and there.

I hope the bike turned out @katharsisdrill and you get some drawing time in!

Sort:  

@donnadavisart - I know what you speak of. I lived in Canada, had at times 2 cars (and a truck) which I needed, so as not to be a "prisoner" in my house. Since living in Vienna, I don't need any of it and am free of the burden, using excellent public transportation. I am thinking about a bike, but also just a (folding) scooter might do to get around faster than walking. Wherever you go in Europe, you find well developed bike lanes just about everywhere. Bikes are allowed and encouraged where cars are banned (more and more pedestrian zones).

I'm so jealous of that @themoplastic I wish I could just move to UK or EU but alas, as an American, each time I've tried I've failed as there is no legal way for me to reside there for longer than a few months. I'm stuck, as most Americans, in our paved highway of cars :/

Here the politicians talk about trains being very expensive, but what they forget is that car must cost at least the same - the investment is just not centralised. Ordinary people living in areas with bad infrastructure must have a car each to get around. The price of all these cars and the price of managing the roads must be at least equal to the cost of public transport. Only difference is that the politicians do not need to find these money in their own budget.

I have already biked with the little one (10 years) and every time we are overtaken by a suburb-man in lycra and bicycle helmet she try to follow his pace. Speeding on bikes :)

We've no good trains here in USA either. After WWII we were the 'experimental country' in the auto so they ripped out train lines and even the few trains we have here are so out of date and so slow compared to in EU UK. So sad. What's funny is pre WWII you could take a train from the very remote tip of Cape Cod (where I live) which is very rural and seaside, into Boston. That was all removed and the traffic jams in the summers here are just pathetic... I wish we could have open travel to work and live into the EU, but that won't happen I guess, ever :(

Trains are the transportation I like the most. Having a table, being able to read a book, walking to the toilet, the sound, the landscape running past framed by a large window.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63017.22
ETH 2457.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61