Why Cycling

in #cycling7 years ago (edited)

When I grew up my opinion was that cycling was for people that could not afford a car. I dont remember seeing people cycling round in lycra in the 80s but if I had seen them I am pretty sure that I would have made fun of them.

Fast forward to 45 and I needed to reconsider. I was 110 kilos BMI 33. I had been trying to quit smoking for 15 years and I had injured my knee. I was uncomfortable at that weight and having trouble breathing and sleeping. My job as a software developer meant I could go a whole day without walking more than 100 paces. Also for various reasons stress was becoming a factor amplifying any physical problems.

My doctor told me that I should exercise but because of my knee he suggested that swimming or cycling were really my only options. I did 10 lengths of a pool staring at the black line on the bottom got out of the pool and bought a bicycle.

I thought the advantage of cycling would be that I could cycle to work. Save time and gas and that would be enough to motivate me. I would do it for 2-3 weeks and then excuses would form, rain, cold etc. Back on the smokes and the beer.

The change came when I shed my embarrassment and went for a training ride with a much fitter college. He would beat me up every hill. We did a regular ride once a week and the momentum started to build.

Then I went to a club and had a race. I went in the lowest grade and got resolutely thrashed but it was fun and I felt great. From then one training and social racing have been part of my routine. Stopped the fags, lost 10 kilos and I feel great.

I think the big issue with cycling for fitness and sport is that it has an image problem. It looks ridiculous. Old overweight men in lycra riding around is not a good look. I would suggest that if you are in a similar health situation to me forget what other people think, get together with others and give it a go. You stopped being cool about 20 years ago, get over it.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit!

We have all been waiting for you, we are glad you could make it.
I have given you a upvote to help you out!

Hope you love Steemit as much as we do.

Give these a read:

Chat with us:

If this post was helpful, please leave an upvote. It helps me to keep helping new users.

I'm sunnybooster, a booster for accounts not posts. Send me 0.5 STEEM or SBD to get a week of upvotes! If you don't yet know what this is its fine.

I am a bot and this was automated. I exist to help out new members and attempt to get them hooked

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.56
ETH 3203.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46