It's Fwiendztay! Let's Ride!

in #cyclefeed6 years ago (edited)

I missed the Fwiendztay Ride last week because I was riding out in the hills. No excuses today. It wasn't a lot of riding but we went to La Salle Park to play kickball. I kind of wanted to take a break from drinking again but that wasn't going to happen on a kickball ride.

IMG_20180718_195717332.jpg

I feel like a nerd wearing my helmet on this ride. It's sometimes nice to go without a helmet, out in the country, riding on the hills. I really wish people would wear helmets though. I once hit some railroad tracks and had the bicycle behind me hit me in the head, cracking my helmet. I can't imagine what the impact would have been like if I wasn't wearing a helmet that time.

We rode to La Salle Park, not a far ride. There is an amphitheater there, where bands occasionally play. We used the grass in front of it for our kickball diamond.

IMG_20180718_203333634.jpg

This ride had maybe 30 people, which made for quite an outfield for our game. I scored the first run for my team. That was pretty fun, considering I'm not much of an athlete. We still lost, I believe. Ah, who cares? We had fun and that's all that counts.

IMG_20180718_203401074.jpg

We rode to Rohall's afterward, a kind of divey bar that even after 5 or 6 years nobody seems to know about. A friend of mine was DJing. I apologize that I forgot to take a photo. I'll be there again sometime soon. I DJ'd there once myself and it was quite fun. They paid well considering it was a weeknight. Maybe I will again sometime but only if I can hook up a turntable to play vinyl.

Sort:  

Sounds like a lovely day Rob

I always reiforce around here the importance of wearing a helmet, even a small crash could coast a life. Gosh, that happened to a boy in Brazil a couple months back, he fell and hit his head, the impact killed him. It's ugly, it doesn't look cool, but it'll save our life.

One time I crashed on train tracks. My head didn't hit the ground but my friends bike flew over me, cracking my helmet. I ended up with just a small cut on my elbow. I'm so glad I was wearing a helmet because being hit in the head with a steel bike would have caused much more damage had my head not been protected.

Hi, congratz, you are now listed on the Steemians directory (https://www.steemiandir.com/) You can read more about this initiative here: https://steemit.com/steemit/@anonyvoter/new-selections-of-july-19-2018 If you like this project it would be great if you could resteem the post to make more people aware of it.
If you don’t want to be listed just leave me a comment and I will delete your profile from the website. Thank you very much for reading and I’m looking forward to your feedback!
PS: I’m NOT a bot so… I’m really looking forward to your feedback 😊
PS2: I also added @cyclefeed as a promoter : https://www.steemiandir.com/all-promoters/

Oh cool. Thanks!

Your contribution can’t be approved because it doesn’t follow Insaddle Rules.

  • Content must fit one of the following categories and be created according to a provided category template (click here to see the available templates):
    • Trail - providing a trail to a destination with coordinates and a map
    • Location - sharing a location that is worth visiting
    • Accommodation - pointing out to a tested accommodation eg. stealth camping, hostel
    • Alimentation - pointing out to a tested location that serves or sells food & drink, along with the costs involved eg. a restaurant, bar or a store
    • Warning - informing about potential risks associated with a trip eg. wild animals, contagious diseases, crime, harsh weather conditions, restricted access
  • Posts in a selected category must be properly tagged with a secondary tag

Happy to hear you’re putting safety first, looking nerdy or not, as you said, wearing a helmet can safe ones life one day!

Anyways, I’d like to add that your contribution indeed fits the trails category but is missing some important aspects of a quality post. Be sure to check the contribution guidelines for more information on how to properly make up your posts.

At Insaddle we value travelers of any kind who put commitment into sharing their efforts with the world, that’s why I sent you a little gift :)

Insaddle Team Member
You can contact us on our Discord Channel.

Hi I’m @insaddle.booster and I’m a part of the Insaddle Community :) It’s rumored that you’ve been working really hard to spread the good vibes related to traveling and that’s way I decided to give you a little boost in a form of an upvote!

To find out more about Insaddle, I encourage you to read our introduction post.

discord_insaddle.png

Hi I’m @ontwowheels and I’m a part of the Insaddle Community :)

I was doing the usual, winding through the roads until I came across your post… I couldn’t help it and hit the breaks so hard the disks turned red! I really like what you’ve been up to so I thought to myself: The hell with it, let’s give this guy an upvote! And so I did :)

To find out more about Insaddle, I encourage you to read our introduction post.

@ontwowheels out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65556.02
ETH 2660.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91