The Cycling Sessions Part 4: Uphill Mount Pilatus

in #cyclefeed6 years ago

Another free and crazy hot Sunday and another day to hit the bike!



20180729_123433.jpg

The plan was more than ambitious, I would start from home in Luzern and head by bike up Mount Pilatus. Now Pilatus has two cablecar middle stations before reaching the summit at 2106 meter.



Now first of all, you can not bike all the way to the summit, and I also was totally not intending to do this. My idea was to bike up to the first cable car station of Krienseregg.

This is still a nice way up as you can see ascending more than 550 meters.

Screenshot_20180729-175318_Maps.jpg
Screenshot_20180729-175258_Maps.jpg

For there on it was my idea to leave my bike and HIKE up the second part from Krienseregg to the Frakmuntegg cablecar station. Depending on how tired I was I thought I was take a cable car back down to my bike or just walk back.

Screenshot_20180729-175817_Samsung Internet.jpg
Screenshot_20180729-175734_Samsung Internet.jpg

These last 3D images are from bergwelten.com which is your best hiking guide ever!





Now there is a difference about having a plan and actually executing it ;)

The bike ride started off quite brutal I found! It was warm and the asfalt was giving back a lot of heat in the city. Soon I started to elevate leaving the houses behind me, the surroundings became more peaceful.


20180729_114432.jpg


Blasting from one gorgeous view to the next I ran into all kinds of cool things. I stopped here and there to make a picture and that a perfect excuse to cool off a bit and take it easy. Because going uphill on an E-bike is still working. Surely not as much as one a normal bike, but it is not like you get the ride for free all of a sudden.


20180729_114549.jpg


I saw this lonely house on the hill that was totally powered by solarpanels, and with a gigantic stack of wood for the winters, and water pumped out of the mountain. Damn I know what I will be saving up my money for. Please let Steemit buy me this house on the hill when I grow old!


20180729_114139.jpg

A while later I saw these bee-houses. Bees flying everywhere on the hunt for some fresh flowers which were enough here in the green fields. Luckily they left me alone, they looked a bit too busy building their empire than to bother me ;)





Back to the story

Ow yes, a difference between an plan and an execution. Well, Mount Pilatus actually has a ton of cycling and hiking routes around it and I was only keeping my eye on the cablecar house as a point of direction. And because I also had pieces through the forest I missed that I was underneith the cablecar track, taking it to the other side.

Now I kept steadily going up and up and and up untill finally I saw the cablecar again. It seemed like the road was neverending to the first station. So I opened good old google maps and I realized later that I had already passed the cablecar house. The asfalt ended there going over into dirt road and I decided to walk up with the bike in my hand. (because walking was the plan so there shall be walked)

After a while of walking up and not seeing the second cable car station but seeing a sign of a mountain hut I deceided it was enough of uphill and time for some chill.


20180729_130255.jpg


For some reason I love drinks like Rivella or Almdudler when I am on the mountains. Sugars and sweetness!





After a bit it was time to decend again

And once again I didnt take the easy route, but yet the cool one ;)


20180729_115811.jpg

I really took my time for descending. This for a multiple reasons actually. I was already more tired than uphill so that makes you loose focus. Also I was by myself so if I would fall in a ravine or so, nobody would miss me ;)) And last of all, the scenery was too beautiful to just race through it.

There is nothing wrong with taking it easy!

Thanks for riding with me!





Proud member of the SMG. Do you want to apply as well? Give it a shot on Discord or follow the SMG curation trail

Interested in Passive income? Try Swiftcoin and Mannabase
Did you have the Steemit Airdrop of Gbyte already?Hit me up after downloading the wallet
and I will send you the starter fee

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Wait - what?? You went.. uphill? On a bike?? You crazy gal. To be honest, all of these cycling posts are making me think about getting on a bike again. Your little trips look lovely, especially the rest stops!

Take the E-bike!!

You get the fun but with less effort!

And also perfect for transportation for free..Id say its win win win

I want to compliment you on your story, not only is it a very nice story to read but I also admire the layout of your post. I have to learn a lot when I see a post like yours!

Thank you so much for that compliment.

And the funny thing is that I was actually on the hunt this morning to make it even cooler with pictures on the left and right side with text next to it

Honestly, its not that difficult.

So expect more ;)

(if you need tips and trips let me know)

Sunday well spent and we blijven Nederlanders gefietst moet er worden

Juistem!

Ook zo grappig dat locale collegas hier zeggen van.. 'ja swinters ga je toch niet fietsen hoop ik of wel?'

uhhhh ja natuurlijk wel, je gaat toch niet ineens niet meer fietsen omdat de weg nat is hahahhaa

Duh. ....ik zie ze denken ! Maar volgens mij is het ook zo dat iedere Nederlander een fiets heeft ! Dat snappen ze ook nergens

Hiking or biking, that's quite a climb either way. The view looks stunning!

Hiking or biking,
That's quite a climb either way.
The view looks stunning!

                 - robmolecule


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Haha! Love haiku. I guess it becomes habit. Was pure accident.

hahahaha admit it!! You just love posting in haiku form :D

Thank for the support on the post and yes it was a nice way up, but very doable (maybe next time leave a bit earlier when it is less hot)

These mountains here.. <3

All my Yelp reviews are in haiku. You need two haikus to meet the minimum words.

That was quite a hike! Fabulous scenery, though. A good way to spend a Sunday.

It was a fantastic way to spend a Sunday actually.

Very peaceful and gratifying... The drink afterwards was more than deserved!

So very beautiful there! Glad you were able to get photos of your ride - love that house you saw! Time to bank some more cash for that . 😁😁

OW yes....totally sustainable...a bit outside space, have 10 dogs...i can see it happening!!

That a perfect future perspective right!

Cool! I really wanted to buy a bike however after reading your post I think I may just go ahead and get one.

Question?

Are you here in Switzerland?

Get the E-bike!
Its biking but without totally dying on the way, it gives you the support to make it enjoyable!

Yes...Swiss based in Luzern. You guys are still there in the South?

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by karinxxl from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

hahahahaha I thought about tagging you in the post even, but you already found it!

Do bees get affected by altitude, do you know that? Because these fellas were at around 1000m high. But I dont know how much higher you could set the hives?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46