TIL - The Power of the TEXT Message For Customer Service

Last night, I checked into a hotel for my birthday.

Within minutes I got a text message.


Good evening, Mr. (@papa-pepper 's given name). Welcome to (Hotel Name and Location). We're glad you're staying with us. How is everything with your room so far? - Trina


I was surprised. I travel a lot, and often spend nights in hotels, but this was the first time that I had ever seen this. I replied:


Very nice so far


Glad to hear that! Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you during your stay! - Samuel


Thanks


Our pleasure. - Samuel


Though I am not sure how much of the process was automated, it seemed like a nice tough and an easy way to keep the guests happy. Also, we have reached the day and age where phone calls can somehow seem intrusive and even offensive to some people, (first world problems), so texting seemed like a natural option.

This morning, after we had left and checked out, I got a few more texts.


Just checking in-how was your room last night? Feel free to reply back with a 1-5 (5 beinng excellent). Have a great day! -Samuel


5 thanks so much


We're very pleased your experience has been excellent. Please consider sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! -Hannah


Mr. (@papa-pepper 's given name), we hope you enjoyed your stay at the (Hotel Name and Location). We hope to see you again soon! - Trina


I thought that the suggestion of giving them a positive review on TripAdviser was a good move on their part too. For the guests who have a good experience, I suppose this is the common recommendation. I think that some sort of follow-up must also occur for guests who have less than satisfactory experiences, but I do not actually know what happens in that case.


Has anyone else had an experience like this?

What do you think of the idea.


FYI - My recent HOTEL POST was a sarcastic post provided as a humor-filled way of sharing about "first world problems."

As, always, I'm @papa-pepper, and here's the proof:


proof-of-texts


FOLLOW


Awesome Handcrafted @papa-pepper logo kindly donated by @vlad - Thank you!!


OPERATION TRANSLATION logo provided by @oecp85.

(click link above for more info on Operation Translation)

Sort:  

I actually think it is great to receive text messages. You can respond when you have time and if you want to. Nobody makes you respond. It makes the whole experience feel more personal. Glad you had a great birthday at your hotel.

I agree, a phone call either has to be answered, or you have to check the voicemail.

Texts are easy to get, easy to ignore, and easy to access later.

Smart move as far as I am concerned.
'

Thanks @sgnsteems!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $35.76 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 10 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

I don't think I would mind the texts but I much prefer emails in such cases. The follow up with a suggestion to write a review on Trip Advisor is very smart. I've actually had bad stays at hotels. This was before cellphones. LOL.
I always sent a respectful letter detailing why it was terrible and I've always gotten a response. One time I even got a percentage of my hotel costs reimbursed. That was a pleasant surprise.

I think that it is a good idea to let businesses know, in a respectful and professional way, when they don't line up with our expectations.

Any word on your kitchen table fort project?

HAHA! You're holding me to that, huh?
FINE! I'm working on it. LOL

Personally, I think it'll do you some good.

I think getting a nice shot of your husband catching you in the act may be great too!

Have not encountered this so far though last time I check into a hotel was almost a year ago.:-)

Yeah, we went to one not too long ago, and it didn't do this.

The one the other day was brand new and in a busy area, so maybe that had something to do with it.

Thanks @ace108!

This probably won't work well for foreign guest. Like I'm going to pay for international SMS to work for them. :-) maybe with free wifi and whatsapp, it's possible.

Right, I was thinking of that too!

I personally hate it when unwanted people text or call, but I have worked my way down to not many intrusive calls or text messages being my number has change frequently due to problems. However the new number I am using has been constant for the last year, So things are getting better on that end.

That makes sense.

Most calls and texts I get are reasonable, so that helps!

I guess though working in customer service a few years really made me hate phones. I used to love getting calls, but no I would rather avoid them at all costs.

I've always preferred face to face over the phone, but I can't even imagine what customer service would do to someone!

I would hate that 😂

But that's because I've become very private and personal with my phone. I like to have total control of my apps so that I can't be disturbed but I'm in need of a new phone number because of all the text spam I get.

Interesting though... But I'll never give my number to the hotel 😅

if your in the US get a Google voice number, then you can get the text or phone calls on your phone or block them at will, only giving out that number.

Never heard of it but sounds interesting. Thanks!

At least that is an option for those like you. If you don't want to be bothered by them, you don't have to let them! 😎

Love the text message for customer service!!!

I think it is very current.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63