My Arrogant Marketing Advice to Steemit

in #currency8 years ago (edited)

Currency?  Social Media?  Which is it? If it is both you/we need to put a little more focus on the Social Media and why people are attracted to it.

Let's face it, I am really new here at #Steemit.  I have been reading the questions, comments and blogs of many members, focusing of course on those regarding #Steemit, as I try to learn what this site is all about.  If I am not here hoping for money, I am probably long gone.

I have been reading articles on how to write good articles, how to get noticed and how to earn.  That is not what made Social Media a hit.  Social Media is a hit, because you can find people to connect with on several levels.  Friends, Family, people who live in your city, people who like to debate a specific topic, etc.  So, you aren't just roaming through random content, you are reading and reacting to those with whom you have a connection.

There is no focus on excellent writing on FB, Twitter or any other successful Social Media platform.  In fact, all the discussion of excellent articles and writing is actually intimidating and will run casual users away.

Encourage people to post like they would on Facebook, little updates, family pictures.  Give people a way to communicate with others in a casual way like Twitter.  There are a limited number of Authors out there.  Although you may want to attract them, you do not want to run off the casual user.  Encourage people to write and to write often.  Give people groups, categories, pages and ways to connect.  If the users come the content will follow!!!

If you are trying to build a social media platform and not just a currency people need to be able to vote more often, post more often and gather information that is interesting to them.

My thoughts - as a Newbie

Sort:  

That advice is NOT arrogant.

It's what I've been saying to people from DAY ONE.

It really pisses me off how people keep emphasizing the money aspect.

You CAN HYPERLINK to content on posts and comments.
That is HUGE.

And completely IGNORED.

That's what I liked about minds.com.
The focus on making new features.
The one issue is that they think in a democratic style...
but from what I've seen on here, maybe that isn't such a downfall...

Remember this platform is still very new and the pace of the growing user base is slowing down the process of building the actual platform.

Many improvements are on the way.

Yes, that is a good point.

I like the idea of groups. Maybe it's in the works.

I need to find where they keep the development list of what is coming.

not sure. I feel like I read that somewhere. But there is a tag called steemit-ideas that perhaps the devs look at and respond to.
https://steemit.com/created/steemit-ideas

Upvoted and followed!

I agree 100% on everything in your post. People are getting flagged in to ghosts because of "quality" and that does not help either.

Thank you, yes you called me on the one flag I did. I feel you were right.
If I hadn't already followed you, I would now... Cheers

8D
I think I have figured out a solution to it.
I'm going to write about it tomorrow. is it ok if i use some quotes from this post in it? I'll make sure to put your name after all the quotes and link to this post at the bottom if its ok.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69558.81
ETH 3330.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74