Curious things about SNOW ❄️

in #curiousfacts6 years ago

I bet there is a lot you don't know about snow. I had been waiting for it to fall since November and now that it's finally here I decided to share my love for it with all of you, with some interesting curious educational stuff about it too :)

Wherecoolthingshappen_christals9.jpg
Photo by Alexey Kljatov

There ARE two identical snowflakes!

How many times has someone told you that you are unique as a snowflake? Well, snowflakes actually aren't that unique as we thought. The amount of snow produced every year is almost infinite, how probable is it that every snowflake is different? In 1988, at the National Center for Atmospheric Research (NCAR) a scientist, Nancy Knight found two IDENTICAL snow crystals.

They are fast and always have 6 sides

Snowflakes are actually clusters of ice crystals that fall from clouds. They are usually 1.3 centimetres about but can go up to 5 centimetres across. An average snowflake falls at about 5 km/h and it is made out of water molecules, about 180 billion of them. Those water molecules are responsible for 6 sides that every snowflake has.

Linda Gaines for Double X Science:

"In the case of water molecules bonding to other water molecules, the two slightly negative areas of the oxygen can each bond with a slightly positive hydrogen from another water molecule. When all four slightly charged areas have each bonded with another water molecule via hydrogen bonding, the result is a tetrahedral (four-sided pyramid) shape. As the water freezes, these tetrahedrons come closer together and crystallize into a six-ring or hexagonal structure."

9uTVIpA.jpg
image source

Snow absorbs sound waves

Did you notice how quiet and nice it gets when snow falls? It is because snow absorbs sound waves.

"When the ground has a thick layer of fresh, fluffy snow, sound waves are readily absorbed at the snow surface, dampening sound. If the surface melts and refreezes, the snow becomes smooth and hard. Then the surface will help reflect sound waves." nsidc.org

The largest snowman was 37 m high!

According to Guinness world records the tallest snowman was built in Bethel, Maine in USA 2008. Residents of Bethel used over 5 million kilograms of snow to make it and it took them one month to build it.

My little snow monster that I made this morning is nowhere near that but I think Heshe is cute. I wasn't quite sure whether a made a boy or a girl snowman so I named it Heshe. It fits! My little snow monster can be whatever it wants to be. I even knitted a hat for it to wear. I think Heshe likes it :)

IMG_20180223_125007.jpg

For more information about snow and snowflakes please follow these links:
nsidc.org
www.its.caltech.edu
fun-snow-facts
didyouknowfacts
smithsonianmag.com

()

I have started the first HAPPINESS CONTEST. Are you happy, want to share your happiness and earn some SBD? Click on the picture and learn all about it!

<happiness logo.jpg>

Sort:  

HI MISS, HOW ARE YOU,

Image147.jpg

SELECT ME MISS

This is considered spam. Please do not do it here or anywhere else. Thank you.

You brought it home. Hahaha. Youre crazy. Dont forget to feed him 😂😂😂

U splitu je 15 stupnjeva. Nista od snijega ove godine.

He eats snow, oh... But he is made of snow... Hm... He is crazy too :)

It's interesting to read your post today after I just watched "Frozen" movie... It was my first time to watch that movie and it was hilarious, emotional and captivating. Your Heshe looks like Olaaf lol. The last time I saw snow was like 15 years ago in Seattle, Washington and I really miss it. Now, I know more about snowflakes for the next time I go somewhere snowy :)

I loooooove Frozen and I looooove Olaf. Maybe Heshe is his cousin :)

Every time I read something I didn't know, I always think about that quote from Bill Nye ''Everyone you ever meet knows something you don't''...
Tnx for the cool facts!

Bill Nye rocks! :)

Nice article! We kinda take snow for granted but its benefits to the soil and to the environment are substantial. And we take you for granted for checking our posts and votes on TheSteemEngine :D
And I didn't know that there are 2 identical snowflakes. And I still can't believe it, probably they didn't look close enough.

They were small crystals, with big crystals the chances of two identical ones are pretty slim :)

I knew none of these interesting facts.It is only after reading your post that I now have this information which will be great talking points when the topic of snow comes up!

I am glad you liked it :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Petra (zen-art) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You just destroyed my world by saying there are two identical snowflakes. Now it is not that special to me. I am just kidding.
The fun fact also for you… it snowed this year in Sahara, and it happened for the third time in 40years

In Sahara? Really? Mother Nature sure is pissed at us :D :D :D
I can not really say that we did not deserve it...

I found this through the Steem Engine. It makes me a bit happy, and a bit sad, you know that's how nostalgia works... :) I live in Malaysia now, where there's no snow. But I grew up in a place with enormous amounts of snow each winter. And those were long winters too lol. Long, dark and cold, still childhood memories are always somehow happier than later memories.

Now I'm older, I can't take the cold as much.

I am happy to hear you have nice and snowy memories :)
Thanks for stopping by 💚

I absolutely had no idea snows absorbs the sounds. Now that I think about it truly is quiet and nice when the snow is falling. Calming to be more precise. That sure is one interesting fact. :)

I am glad you enjoyed your time in the snow and sharing your snowman with us. My mom loves snow as well and when she was younger had a great talent for skiing. She loves everything about snow. :)

37 meters snowman. How long did it take to build that one? Wow. lol

Thank you for sharing your snow love story with us and information about it. Awesome job. :)

Have a great day. :)

Well, your mom and I have that in common, I love everything about snow :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85