Addiction in this new age. (The Steemit Case)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #rant8 years ago (edited)

A scale of 0-10 would not do enough justice to my current addiction rating here on Steemit. 0-100 would just begin to scratch the surface but because every other scale seems like a multiple of the 0-10 scale, I will just have to convert my existing rating on the 100-scale to a 10-scale equivalent. 

But Steemit is so hard to use so where is the addiction coming from?

Well fair enough steemit's learning curve looks and feels very steep. It's a well known fact in the community and doesn't deserve further beating - I believe. 

While some may see this steep learning curve as an hinderance and an excuse to move on to other things, I find them to be hurdles I need to learn to scale because I am preparing for the Olympics. 

If I shy away from training and training hard, my gold medals will also shy away from me at the finals. 

So I have a goal, and that's why I have kept pushing on. 

In my quest to keep pushing, I've had the privilege to be welcomed and accepted by the @lordvader (yes I know! I'm beginning to get obsessed). 

Through the help of @ebryans I got to discover some amazing folks like @surfermarly, @timcliff with amazing "tutorial-like" posts, and @writingamigo .

One interesting post I discovered today was @sweetsssj and her take on beating kids (I assumed we only do that in Nigeria) 

Here is the link.

Overall I can't seem to get my mind off Steemit. I now go to bed way past midnight and that's only when my eyes start to rebel. 

I also discovered I can't just keep upvoting anything I see or like. There are many things I'm learning like how my actions affect my reputation ratings, if there's an optimal time to post, what topics people seem to upvote the most. 

It's all interesting stuff

So on a scale of 0-100, I am currently on 98. Which translates to a 9.8 or 10 depending on if your algorithm gives room for decimal places. 

I'm out of rant steam.

Thanks for reading and...

See you later.

Sort:  

Wait, I can't just upvote any post I like? Ugh, I'm still new here and I feel like I've barely scratched the surface of everything there is still to learn!

Haha! There's a lot to learn I believe. Well according to some post I read, looks like the "weight" or "power" of your vote decreases with every vote cast. So we are advised to upvote only what we really feel is good. I believe this is done to discourage people from just upvoting every post they see or even building bots to do that. Your upvote gives visibility to posts and only posts that would be worth the while of other folks should be given this privilege.
Like they say "your vote is your power".
Sorry I can't find the link to the exact article right now but I hope this gives you a better idea.

Oh yes, definitely. Thanks for explaining this to me. I guess it actually makes a lot of sense. It encourages everyone to bring out the best in ourselves!

copy your link to your blog and change the it part to d to see your power of votes. so https://steemd.com/@playfulfoodie , Giving you a follow !

@fistaganos , keep up the good work !

Wow, that is a lot of info on that page! I am currently reading through documentation and there's still a lot of the whitepaper left for me to read. I also bookmarked a couple of posts I found which seemed quite interesting. I will try to some day understand all that is displayed on this link you gave me!

And for now, I already enjoy reading other people's posts, viewing their photographs and sharing some of my own :D

Thank you!

I will. Thanks for playing a part too.

Check steemd for your voting power, there are other apps out there , but that's one I'm using , Iremember reading a post and doing numerous others , for a month before I ended up throwing all he steem tutorials in the trash , started just reading and watching posts, commenting , got the habit , then one day I got in the chalenge of writing thanks to @dragosroua then had a few night shifts on steemit going to bed at 6am after a night of Upvoting and Promoting my posts, following people and so on , and It's become a grind after that , just endless slew of post.

I go the the steemit chat , check the promotions, paste my own , go comment, vote , check peoples past works , ten 2 hours have gone by and I repeat the pattern.

Thats my journey so far , I suggest you read the Whitepaper ,or listen to it (like i did) check some in depth posts on starting up with steemit and then go where the wind takes you !

If you want to I can link you to the first posts I read , It's a long read bu quite expansive and very enlightening , after that it's just practice and experience and it's helped by your personal character and habits :) .

Cheers !!! I'm at 101 :d , got 365 tabs open on my browser :D , went up from 245 3 days ago , and about that days are getting welded together and I'm missing out on my work and side activities , which is great in a way.

Just be careful do it consciously , or Steemit will eat you , we are small minnows after all and Whales are making splashes :D , Steemit is the Whale in my mid :D we are in the belly of the east !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66824.20
ETH 3503.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62