Working Title 8/2/18 (MSP Poetry Curation)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

My day today was spent unpacking boxes and considering what finally makes a house feel like a home. Is it the placement of the knives in the kitchen? The pounding of nails into a wall- the permanence of "I made this hole here, and now it is mine"? A strange weight seems to lift as the boxes are emptied and things are placed where they belong.

Anyway, on to the poetry! I have found 5 poems across steemit to share with you- they will be upvoted by the @msp-curation account (thank you @aggroed!) and my top choice will be resteemed as well.

DE9C808E-1BD2-4CF4-BFAB-CA814665D945.jpeg

We talk about Huntington’s disease
and Guthrie’s divorce,
ribbons of highways
and Dorothea Lange.

Oklahoma by @beginningtoend is what is sometimes called a "slice of life" poetry. I love it's sense of imagery and place. Beginning to end was one of the first poets I discovered on the blockchain- he does found poetry and great stuff that combines images with poems. I was really excited to see that he had posted something new, and highly recommend his other work as well.

He joins to eat but then retreats
A shadow in the dark
Social grace... it takes his place
No chance to leave his mark.

As He Demurs by @quillfire is a piece that challenges- as does the explanation that goes along with it. I disagree with many of the ideals stated, but can't deny the quality of the poem. The internal rhyme that is evident throughout the poems in the post (there are 4 total) create an interesting rhythm and an obvious style. No matter your personal ideals, his work is certainly worth reading.

She fills my coffee cup
and bumps my table with
her hip before swiveling
in the direction of another
customer; a regular it seems.

Waitress by @acousticsteveo is an interesting piece that captures a moment in time, and communicates a frustration, a momentary burst of feeling, associated with that moment. When I edited this piece, I was especially captured by his use of diction- the word "swiveling" is such a strong word for the motion that waitresses make as they avoid all the obstacles in their path as they do their job. It created an immediate image.

I'm not trying to say that,
if there was a girl…
not you.
If (not her)
she wasn't interested
(you know who I mean)
that I wasn't trying.

Blunder by @fromage uses punctuation and line breaks to create a fumbling rhythm that works so well with the content. I really wish the author had recorded a reading along with this one- I would be really interested in hearing how this was intended to sound.

clouds-808749_1920.jpg

In the wake of the moon
she wallows in tidal strands,
seaweed frays in the lee of the land.

Drowning in her Voice by @raj808 is such a strong example of his poetry- he discusses the use of personification in the blurb at the beginning, but his use of nautical motifs is just sooooooo strong and unique to his style. I've featured raj a number of times, because he's awesome and he deserves it. Check him out!


mspgif.gif




Art and pullquotes are sourced from their respective posts
Reflections are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

@sunravelme,

I disagree with many of the ideals stated ...

And yet you highlighted the post anyway. This is what makes the world smarter ... people willing to at least listen to ideas, ideals and insights with which they disagree. Steel sharpening steel.

Some of the comments to this post, a number of which take exception to my central premise, are themselves worthy of being Posted and ReSteemed.

I thank you for your open-mindedness. The honor is mine.

Quill

@sunravelme,

I received an invite on my post to join the curation group. I got an Invalid Invite error when I clicked on the hyperlink. I think I got timed-out. Is there any way you could send another? I promise, I'll pay attention this time. Thanks.

Quill

Are you speaking of MSP or C-squared?

@sunravelme,

The message was from MSP

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Quill

@sunravelme,

Same problem. Invalid Invite. Your message says it was sent 5 hours ago. Is the Discord time expiration less than 5 hours?

Quill

No that one shouldn't have expired. Try this one? https://discord.gg/GUuCXgY

@sunravelme,

I hate to say it, but ... "Invalid Invite" again. (I tried three times). Maybe they've changed their minds. Could you check? :-)

BTW, thanks for all the trying.

Quill

Thanks! I could probably swing a reading, heh.

Thank you for including my poem Sun. Also it really reinforced something which I have been telling myself for a while now as I hone my poetry. The inner critic in me was shouting at me saying, 'you are just rehashing the same imagery ' re the ocean themes. But the other side of my critical thinking has been telling me for a while that it is some of my strongest work and I should embrace it as an emerging style rather than beat myself up. It is gratifying and encouraging to hear someone else describe it in terms of style.

I hope you are well, thanks again both for the curation and the feedback :-)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sunravelme☀ from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.34
ETH 2300.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47