OKLAHOMA / Original Poetry

in #poetry6 years ago

DE9C808E-1BD2-4CF4-BFAB-CA814665D945.jpeg
Dust Bowl Photograph by DOROTHEA LANGE

I haven’t posted one of my poems for quite some time, the fact is most poetry journals consider blog posts as publication and are not eager to accept them for submission. So, since I am interested in publishing, I have been holding back, saving my poems to submit to print journals.

Here however is one of my new poems I will share. It’s a poem that recently placed 2nd in the IBPC Poetry Competition. If you wish to read it on the IBPC website CLICK HERE

OKLAHOMA

Near old photographs of oil fields
and dust bowl refugees
a Rock-Ola jukebox
plays Earnest Tubb.

I’m drinking shots, ready
to stop driving trucks, to start
selling cars for my brother
in East Sacramento.

The bartender pours another
and knows she is striking,
a Cherokee maiden
with masculine shoulders,
heavy eye liner
and black press on nails.

We talk about Huntington’s disease
and Guthrie’s divorce,
ribbons of highways
and Dorothea Lange.

A wagon wheel light
is a circle of fire
on the ceiling.

I confess to sorting things out,
that my wife has filed papers.

Moon Mullican is singing
‘Goodnight Irene’
a cowboy in red leather boots,
stitched on the side
with white Texas stars,
slow dances his partner
into a corner.

Image Credit history.com

logo 2.jpg

Sort:  

It is so hard to comment on poetry, at least for me. I like it though - more mellow than wild west.

Thanks glad you enjoyed it.

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Breathtaking. You have a new fan.

Many thank, I’m glad you enjoyed it.

No wonder this won an award! Wonderful piece, Dale!

Thanks man, I haven’t been posting much writing so i have it available to submit for publication, also to give me more time to refine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61440.52
ETH 3447.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52