Curation for Creatives!

in #curation7 years ago (edited)

Steemit is full of people who are creating some amazing writing- from poetry to short stories to extended novels. Here are the people that I recommend, in no particular order:

DQmesWYRvUTU7f9ZmtSkpwJ5RB84VXttdURKUVhDkqvmXwr.jpg

Butterfly mask (original poem and art) by @tinypaleokitchen

Tiny is one of the fantastic writers that we have in The Writer's Block. Generally, she writes and helps edit fiction, but she dipped her toe into the poetry pond with this post. I love her use of simple rhyme while she exposes her internal workings- the form matches the message elegantly. I also love her painting that goes along with this- she needs to share a bit of that talent with the rest of us!

DQmZAMFycGqTWXtqKyzoaHsDXPMPDJKvmhLoiusfZEkDXpd.png
For two thousand years... by @csbegu

This super short piece reminds me of epic fantasy condensed into 3 sentences. I really liked where it took my mind- and csbegu also writes some fantastic poetry and short stories. He's a great author with a lovely voice.

DQmeHX66Q7K1vMoiB3gwXrqaNPjRFirxebKgZppsEmUajB7.jpg

AJAX Tarnished, Book 1 of the AJAX Chronicles... Part 1: Steel Worx, Chapter 1 by @dbzfan4awhile

Dbz fan is serializing his self-published book on Steemit, and here's your chance to get in on the ground floor! There is also a prologue available, which is linked in his post. The introduction starts off by letting us into the head of Ajax, who works in a factory creating steel. One of the characters is aptly named "Kelvin".

DQmRyTaqbd6eHgdmmtpL3P4W4fizeF9n2U8GagqCwcnHurx.jpg

Haiku of Japan 21 – 30 :: Collection #3 by @dbooster

Dbooster is currently living in Japan, which is pretty awesome all by itself. But he also has been translating Japanese haiku into English- a creative art in and of itself. I adore his translations, especially since he includes the original language as well as his own. They range from amusing to classic, and are totally worth the read.

U5drmM4HsgcpWY8eAtszNcHVwjooFsH_1680x8400.jpg

Fictioneers Conflict Prompt / Man vs. Society -- "Broken" by @geke

Geke is one of those authors who seamlessly embeds educational ideals into story. She often writes about economics in such a way that I have no idea that is what the story is about- I'm so deeply embedded into her story telling that it isn't until I later think about the themes that I realize I learned something! In this short piece of fiction, she explores how war impacts society on the human level and benefits the government monetarily. It's haunting. She is also my co-moderator at the Poetry Workshop in The Writer's Block, so you got to know that her poetry is on point.


rockymountainsteem.png


writersblock.gif


mspgif.gif



Art is from the respective posts

Sort:  

Thank you so much for this list!
I write, too. And I'm relevantly new on Steemit. It's great to connect with people with similar purposes :)

welcome!
take @sunravelme up on her offer! you just have to have and be able to use the Discord app! :D

Awesome! Steemit is a great place for writers :) If you feel like getting connected on discord, all of my groups are great and welcoming places that support people who are new to steemit- you should come check them out!

how did I miss this?

Thanks for coming by and taking a look! Next set is coming up soon!

Nice curation selections!!!

Thanks!!

Thank you for checking them out! They deserve some extra visibility :)

Everyone has an uniques talent and also u have @sunravelme

Nice list! I love the art pieces and will have to check out the writers.

I really like your RMS badge. That looks great! I may copy on that!

Thank you! Got to rep my groups :)

Most def! I need to work on my sign off. It's on my now list.

Thank you so much, honey. This means a lot to me. Hugs

You deserve it, lovely! hugs

Thanks for the shout-out. Glad to hear you enjoy my translations. :)

They are so well done!

This post received a 15% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post received a 10% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @sunravelme from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60794.44
ETH 2623.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62