Sept 23 - Steemit Ramble - Notes on My favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago

Well, as expected, Tuesday was a bit of a brutal day. I didn’t even get a chance to look at Steemit, let alone read. But, I got back to at least read a dozen posts on Wednesday. I had a very busy morning, which started off by getting up later than I wanted. Oh well, best laid plans.

Had to come to the branch first thing, as in before any breakfast, to let a fellow in to do some filming. Then a couple of meetings and an unexpected phone call to cover the bar today and I’m here until at least 6pm.

Today I have an errand to do and then I should get to stay home and work on my material like getting back on track with my rambling. I hate going off-track.

Onward to day 18’s reading

I Was off my Steemit Game Because I Got Complacent, Plus reblogging and more! #Dolphinschool!

@markrmorrisjr’s post talks about how even the successful guys can get off track and need to re-evaluate where they are at. He’s also shared some comments on the rebloging feature.

Stepping Out of the Comfort Zone

We all have comfort zones. The space where we function and are comfortable with. The problem with a comfort zone is that we get too comfortable, we don’t grow and learn more about ourselves if we don’t poke our toes outside of the zone occasionally. @perspective has written a good piece about stepping out of her comfort zone.

Announcing Steem Memes

Memes.. Those cute pictures that we chuckle at on our Facebook timeline are now coming to Steem. @steem-meme announces the new initiative. Don’t forget to scroll through the comments, some of the memes are really good.

#Dolphinschool My Steemit goals and some ideas about how to make the vote weighting more effective!

I know, twice in the same edition, but @markrmorrisjr has some great thoughts here about creating and working on goals on Steemit, or anywhere actually. He is applying them to Steemit. I am struggling with balancing my other commitments and wanting to establish myself on Steemit.

Introducing Steemverify! Anonymous, Secure, Badge-Based Verification Service Now Available!!

This is an interesting concept here. Steemit is a site where to some extent being anonymous is respected yet at the same time there is a struggle to verify who users are, especially when they make claims about who they are or their connection to offsite material they claim as their own. I’ve sent an email to see how the process works.

SS Sultana: The Greatest Maritime Disaster In U.S. History

@getonthetrain writes about a little known but horrendous maritime disaster at the end of the American Civil War. Well written, it’s worth the read about human greed meeting slipshod repair work and hundreds of innocents die.

Being Jealous Over The Success Of Others

It seems like it is more human nature to look at the success of others and experience envy or jealousy than to celebrate their success and strive to match it through doing the work that needs to be done. This post by @doitvoluntarily is so very true and relevant to some on Steem.

STEEM internals #10: Payment reward system demystified.

@cryptomental has written one of the best explanations I’ve seen of how the payment reward system works. Not too technical, which makes it easier for someone like me to follow. Well done.

Suspicions for Plagiarism on Steemit, Do a Quick Check Yourself

Spend any time on Steemit or observing the abuse channel on Steem Chat and you’ll soon realize that some will stop at nothing to try to game the system and steal other’s work. It’s handy to know how to check a post out to see if it belongs to someone else. @cryptos describes a couple of tools you can use to find if either photos or written content has been lifted from somewhere else.

Steem Creator Strategy Guide - How to accelerate your progress

@l0k1 gives a good layout of ideas on how to succeed and move your progress forward at Steemit. Well worth the read.

What I Have Learned During My First 60 Days On Steemit.com

Well written post by @jrcornel on his first couple of months on Steemit. A lot of truths written into the post not only about what it’s like on Steemit but also how to progress on the site.

Wrap-up of Day 18

So, this is the first time I’ve broken from my daily postings due to life getting in the way. I plan on getting back on track and there will be another post tomorrow.

In a few minutes I’ll be heading out to the branch for our 85th Anniversary Dinner of the founding of the branch. We have a special presentation to make to one WW2 veteran member who has 60 years of faithful service to the branch. I’m looking forward to that.

We’re also having a presentation about a project to document all of Canada’s war memorials. Should be an interesting evening.

Suppvorting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.

Sort:  

I followed you. I like to hear the straight conversation from people. Plus the crest is pretty cool too :)

The crest reminds me a little of Dory, but that's okay. Still cool. :)

who is dory?

it is rather neat... have my steemverify crest to put up tomorrow

I love your ramblin' :)

thanks @getonthetrain, that's very kind of you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66081.13
ETH 3315.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69